What makes you weep?

David-tears-2010-A

David’s tears.

We are looking forward to the live performance of Puccini’s “Tosca” at the Blaisdell today.  Puccini is my favorite opera composer.  I especially love his “La Boheme.”  At one performance of “La Boheme,” David removed his glasses and dabbed at his eyes with a handkerchief.  Mimi had died of tuberculosis, and David couldn’t help but think how lost he would have felt if I had been the one who died.  Isn’t it strange that the most beautiful operas are the ones that end tragically?  I wonder why.

Well, my husband is a softie.  Yesterday, he watched “Les Miserables” on Netflix and, again, he removed his glasses to dry his eyes.  After the movie, he said he felt “miserable.”  I chuckled and replied that he felt miserable, because he had watched “Les Miserables.”

I saw “Les Miserables” on stage at the Blaisdell years ago, but didn’t care for it.  I much preferred Andrew Lloyd Webber’s “Phantom of the Opera.”  Talk about gut wrenching.  I didn’t think I would ever stop weeping.  What a great story, and the music was simply phenomenal.

Do operas and musicals affect you in the same way? What makes you weep?

14 Responses to “What makes you weep?”

  1. Denise Says:

    Beautiful music is always moving to me Gigi.

  2. Jeanie Says:

    I agree that stories told in music can be especially moving.

  3. Ana Says:

    I live in Florida Gigi 🙂 Miami 😀

  4. DJan Says:

    I cried at Les Mis, I loved it (the movie). I also cry at operas and especially when there is really beautiful music. I’m a softie too, just like David. 🙂

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have never been to the opera. I did not care much for the movie Les Mis. I do love beautiful music and was disappointed in the movie music. I expected it to be more, having heard so much about the stage version. I guess at this stage of my life, I’ve had my fill of watching suffering. I do cry easily at a good, touching drama, whether in a movie or on a well done TV show, where the characters are well drawn and easy to identify with. Real human emotion touches me.

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    I love a good flame-torching song, but tear up with good drama movies, i.e. “Mr. Holland’s Opus,” since my high school band and director were much like that. Don’t let David watch “Bambi” — it’s horrid, violent, and the mom dies. DrumMajor

  7. christine Says:

    sad movies make me weep, I try not to watch!

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I prefer Phantom too. The story Les Miserable is stupid. The theme song is catchy, but all the “revolutions” this past few years (probably inspired by this story) have resulted in nothing but chaos and more opression. The elites still rule…always have, always will.

    In France, the real life situation where young men and women built the barricades and died accomplished nothing. Nothing changed. Napoleon had restored the monarchy decades earlier, and it still existed after the 1848 uprisings. Not only that Baron von Haussmann was brought in to build the boulevards that exist today and make barricades obsolete.

    As for tears, West Side Story does it to me. Good old American Opera. Dianne

  9. Suzanne Says:

    Ahh! He is a softie. I don’t watch many sad movies but I did watch Steel Magnolia years ago. Shew! I also just read “Merle’s Door”. So good! The author discussed his life with one of his dogs and the end, which was inevitable, got to me.

  10. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I cry more easily these days for a variety of reasons. After tonight, I can say Acts 2 and 3 of “Tosca” had moments when the tears welled up for sure. Tosca’s aria in Act 2–I don’t know how to identify it by title or first line–really had me going. It was a magnificent performance, as was the whole opera. Although I am not a trained musician like you and David, I’m interested in other opinions, since music has its technical side such as whether someone is flat or whatever.

  11. laurie Says:

    I’m an easy weeper, commercials can set me off,

  12. Musings Says:

    Watching Les Miz on stage didn’t make me teary. I wanted to march out of the theater holding a flag. It was so inspiring. I loved it more than Phantom though.

Leave a Reply

