This is Hawaii, after all…

scenic Hawaii 004-A

Peacock in Hawaii.

Aren’t peacocks beautiful?  Like everything else, however, too many peacocks in a small area can wreak havoc on one’s life.  I have read stories in the newspaper where people are so frustrated by the incessant cries and feces of the peacocks in their neighborhood that they take matters into their own hands and beat some of the birds to death.  And, yeah, these people are prosecuted and convicted.

Ah, well, that’s someone else’s problem, not mine.

Recently, the mayor of Honolulu signed into law a bill making it illegal to let one’s house and yard become unsightly.  The fine is $5,000.  There’s also another law making it illegal to dump bulky trash on the sidewalk prematurely (before bulky pickup is scheduled).

I think these laws are simply wonderful and long over-due.  Let’s all keep our neighborhoods looking pristine and lovely, folks.  This is Hawaii, after all!  A tourist mecca!

Now, if only people would stop leaving cigarette butts in the sand at our famous beaches, that would be great!

13 Responses to “This is Hawaii, after all…”

  1. Denise Says:

    I remember the peacocks from my visit to Hawaii. Seeing them only rarely I thought they were magical. I can’t imagine anyone hurting them. I do remember they had a very loud cry. I sometimes moan about how strict our Home Owner’s Association is, but they do a good job in seeing that our neighborhood stays neat and tidy.

  2. christine Says:

    We have a similar problem with Canada Geese in our area, they are looking at ways to cull them. We also have laws about unsightly yards and garbage.

  3. Suzanne Says:

    I just heard a week or so ago they are very loud at night. I am glad I don’t live near one. I find roosters a challenge and I am told the Peacocks are worse.

    That is a great law I think. It is a shame to see a cute neighborhood take a hit because a neighbor or two piles stuff up in their yard.

  4. DJan Says:

    There seem to be few laws here in Bellingham, as I see some homes with old cars and trash piled high, and others that look like they came from a magazine cover. And they can be right next to each other!

  5. Jeanie Says:

    It is a shame when one homeowner can destroy the look of the whole neighborhood by having a junk-filled yard. It will be interesting to see how well the new laws work.

  6. L...w Says:

    Yikes about the new bill that the mayor signed. I know the mayor wants to clean up the city, but like in a condo association, too much is too much. Individual freedoms are being trampled on. I can understand if the neglect is a health hazard but just unsightly? I haven’t read our paper recently, maybe I am not understanding this correctly.

  7. L...w Says:

    Unfortunately, many unkept properties are the result of the owner being financially broke, or more often the case, too old to do the repairs.

    • Captain Donkey Dean Says:

      The impetus for the law was Genshiro Kawamoto, a Japanese billionaire, and his habit of letting his many properties in Oahu’s most prestigious neighborhood fall into ruin. The bill was passed only for the benefit of rich people in affluent neighborhoods, and I hightly doubt it will be enforced in areas where “regular” people live.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I yelled at my Mom once, when she dumped an ashtray in the air port parking lot. I hate litterbugs.

    Re peacocks: Far kinder to wring the birds neck than beat the poor creature to death. I don’t like peacocks. Dianne

  9. DrumMajor Says:

    Be careful, as peacocks can be mean by biting and attacking. It would be better to pet a puppy.
    When I was with husband #2, who smoked, I told him that I didn’t drive in his ashtray, so I didn’t want him to smoke in our driveway. That kept his cigarette butts off the driveway and yards.
    DrumMajor

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    How does one determine what is “unsightly”? While I want people to keep up their properties, there are various reasons why this might not happen. This law sounds unenforceable to me.

  11. Musings Says:

    I’m waiting for the pigeon feeding law. I’ve got a couple of neighbors who should be fined. Their houses are just incredibly unsightly. They look almost abandoned.

  12. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    One law I really like to obey is to stop when a pedestrian is in the crosswalk. My own experience as a pedestrian tells me that it is better for the car to STOP. If the car is drifting slowly, it’s hard to read the intention of the driver. I developed this attitude in England when all the cars would stop for me, if I so much as put my big toe into the crosswalk or Zebra Crossing as it’s called there (pronounced ZEHB-RAH).

Leave a Reply

