Thank goodness for friends

scenic Hawaii 005-A

Cattle in Hawaii.

The other night, I baked beans with Portuguese sausage and onions, and thought it was really delicious.  David thought so, too, helping himself to three servings.  Well, the next morning he called to tell me not to make it ever again, as the beans had made him extremely gassy.  Okay, another recipe bites the dust.  Lol.  Actually, baked beans should be considered a side dish, not the main entrée.  A spoonful of the stuff won’t make you gassy, but three servings will.

Today, I am going to attend the Pen Women’s last meeting before the summer break.  It will consist of a boutique, where members will sell their books and art works, and it will feature readings by members of their prose and poetry.  Lunch will also be served.

I had not been to any meetings last year, because I was always in pain.  Remember when I thought it was due to colitis and the only solution was to remove my colon?  Well, thank goodness my friend, DrumMajor, who is an RN in Kansas, suggested it might be a hernia.  X-rays showed that there was a 3 inch hole in my abdominal wall. A week later, I underwent surgery and, voila, I am now cured and am fit as a fiddle.

When my Pen Women friends ask me how I feel today, I will be able to sincerely tell them that I feel fine!

21 Responses to “Thank goodness for friends”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    You know I am singing “I Get By With A Little Help From My Friends”. You are so lucky that you can’t hear me! 🙂

  2. Cathy Says:

    Good to hear things are much better for you now Gigi – self diagnosis is not good. Puts too much stress on the patient’s brain and also the GP’s patience!

  3. NRIGirl Says:

    I am a huge fan of DrumMajor too; I always look for her response to your posts.

    Yet to visit her blog though… Going there now!

  4. NRIGirl Says:

    Looks like she doesn’t blog 😦

  5. DrumMajor Says:

    Aloha Gigi — Mahalo for the sweet compliments. I just try to guide folks in the correct direction.
    Okay, now that you have your innards settled, just be careful with that toe!
    Nothing wrong with that recipie — you’ll need to save one bowl for David and freeze the rest before dinnertime!
    Sorry to tag on to your blog, but if an RN (or a teacher) has a blog, it can become a great risk to their career. That’s why I’m not on Facebook or other social media. I can’t keep up with my real-time life, much less post daily.
    But I really was a drum major in my high school marching band: the mean person with the long baton, not one of the twirlers. We were best in the state for 2 years.
    Just helpin’ friends is more fun. Aloha, DrumMajor

    • Musings Says:

      Drum Major is totally amazing! I always look forward to her advice and friendly encouragement. How fabulous that she was able to save you from a wrong diagnosis.

      Have you given David Beano?

  6. Suzanne Says:

    Glad you are feeling better. That is great news!

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I think DrumMajor has the same issue my daughter has. Too risky to appear in Social Media. (Connie is a teacher…just like Our Miss Brooks).

    PS to Drum Major. My cousin was in the band about whom the song “Leader of the Band” was written.

    All four of my grand daughters have been in various bands in high school and college. A great vocation and one which in the case of one of my granddaughters actually pays $$.

  8. DrumMajor Says:

    To SchmidleysScribbling:
    We’re chatting away, thanks to Gigi’s “blogroom” —

    Which band was the song “Leader of the Band” written about? I graduated from high school in ’72, and still talk to my high school director.

    DrumMajor

  9. laurie Says:

    beautiful photo! I like the sound of the Pen’s womens group, I’m so glad you are well now, what a scare,

  10. Denise Says:

    Great news about your health Gigi, so happy for you. DrumMajor is an angel! Made me smile about the beans. My mother-in-law always used to put a teaspoon of baking soda in her beans – the dried kind – when they were soaking. It was supposed to take care of those problems.

  11. granny annie Says:

    Thank you for visiting my blog. It is great to visit here and learn about your life and David’s. Your breakfast table looks like ours only our lap top and Kindle are there too. Are those your cattle?

  12. L...w Says:

    I heard you can cook dry beans in a pressure cooker in 5 minutes!! I have to try that one day. So canned beans or fast cooking beans like dried lentils and azuki beans are what we most often use.

    DrumMajor is a wealth of first hand nursing experience and training. I look forward to her comments too.

  13. christine Says:

    sounds like fun today! I still have to try Portuguese sausage. I love beans, maybe adding vinegar will help.

  14. ~L. Says:

    Beano tablets taken before eating the beans are supposed to prevent gas. Soaking beans the night before in hot water then discarding that water and putting fresh batch of water in is supposed to degas beans.

  15. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    A three-inch hole in the abdominal wall sounds major major as a medical problem. Thank goodness Drum Major figured it out and it has been repaired.

    I am an auxiliary member of Pen Women. They used to call the men who had parallel memberships as Friends of the Pen Women– PENguins :-), but I haven’t heard that term recently. Men are usually present in small numbers, but it’s really a very impressive and creative women’s group of artists, writers, and musicians. I haven’t gone recently either, but I hope to get back on the track in the Fall. I got into it because when I was a caregiver I drove my wife, Helen, to the meetings as she dearly loved the Pen Women. One outstanding meeting was with Maya Soetoro-Ng, the sister of President Barack Obama when she discussed her children’s book.

Leave a Reply

