Make love, not war

mandarin orange and banana 001-A

Chilled mandarin oranges and banana.  This was my breakfast today.  Perfect!

It doesn’t take much to make me happy.  A kind word or compliment will always make me smile.

Why dwell on the negative?  Why deliberately say something mean and nasty, aimed directly at someone’s feelings?  What does that accomplish?  Yet, people do that time after time.

The most beautiful song in the world, sung during my college days in the sixties, was: “Let there be peace on earth, and let it begin with me.”

Yes!

Remember this slogan?  “Make love, not war!”

You don’t have to be a hippy or flower child to make love.

Let’s be especially kind towards one another, today, shall we?

10 Responses to “Make love, not war”

  1. DJan Says:

    I will do just that, Gigi. And maybe even practice a “random act of kindness” just for fun! 🙂

  2. granny annie Says:

    Let me start by being kind to you and thanking you for this lovely post to begin my day.

  3. Linda Reeder Says:

    That’s a good message for today. May the Fourth be with you. 🙂

  4. christine Says:

    your salad looks amazing! Gigi I can tell you are in good health, it is reflected in your lovely, happy posts.

  5. L...w Says:

    Same observation as Christine. Your pain free existence is doing wonders for you….it shows!! You are going places again and doing more.

  6. Musings Says:

    We just saw a license plate that said “BE KIND”. I really loved that. I wish everybody would remember.

  7. DrumMajor Says:

    Hello Gigi —
    I agree, and try to avoid squabbling with folks. I try not to offend with comments, and usually muster keeping it under my breathe.
    We need more peace songs these days, where we can understand the words.
    Though not required, I’m an old, delayed hippie, and still avoid bras without burning them.
    (Sure wished I’d kept my heavy peace emblem necklace, my bellbottom jeans, and a cool, wide belt I made out of parachute backpack webbing and a buckle from the harness release straps.
    Cheers, Peace, Aloha, DrumMajor

  8. Arti Says:

    Those fruits make me so hungry! They look so very fresh!!
    Have a lovely day Gigi 🙂

  9. denise Says:

    Well said Gigi! Kindness costs nothing, but the benefits to the recipient and the giver are phenomenal, a real spirit lifter in so many ways. That photo looks delicious. I think I know what I am having for breakfast tomorrow.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Great thoughts and your breakfast looks yummy too. Dianne

Leave a Reply

