So, what else is new?

scenic Hawaii 006-A

Hawaiian seascape.

My travel agent advised me that we will have to pay United Airlines $25 for the first checked in luggage and $35 for the second (50 lbs maximum).  She said that none of the airlines allows free check in anymore.  However, we will be allowed one small carry on and a purse for free.

Good lord! I don’t recall paying for checked luggage before.  Just last November, we flew to and from India via China Airlines without having to pay for our bags.  Hmmm.  I wonder what’s going on.

Changing the subject, I am pleased that David’s boss told him that he will never yell at David again, because David will go home and complain to his wife.  Lol.  I can’t believe he said that.  Is he afraid I might write about another altercation in my blog?  If so, what would be the repercussions?

As I have said before, it is not the task that is difficult.  It is the different personalities that one must deal with in the office that makes one’s job a stressful one.  If everybody gets along with each other, what a delightful place the office will be.

David said he would like to work until age 70 and collect Social Security at that time.  However, it depends on his health.  He’s been complaining to me about his right knee and left foot lately.

So, what else is new?  Lol.

15 Responses to “So, what else is new?”

  1. Olga Says:

    I know what you mean. I always loved my work, but some of the jobs I had were pretty unbearable because of personality conflicts–often not even involving me, but the atmosphere gets set.

  2. Cathy Says:

    Hello Gigi
    I think the reason for the luggage charge is that your flight is going to be a domestic one (inside USA) and not an international one.
    Cathy

  3. granny annie Says:

    Our California daughter visited recently and was charged for her checked bags. She was astounded because she has flown a lot before and was never charged so it is definitely a fairly new fee.

    Be cautious blogging about your spouse’s work. It can have very bad results.

  4. NRIGirl Says:

    What’s new? Well I hear allergies are really bad this season. Someone told me on a scale of 1 – 10, it is at a 14 this year! Oh my!

    I am showing signs of some allergies too, though I have never had any issues in the past.

    Good day Gigi!

  5. DJan Says:

    Every time I have traveled domestically in the past several years I have had to pay for checked luggage. I understand some airlines are considering charging for carry-on luggage as well! I also bring my own pillow because they don’t provide them in economy any more. 🙂

  6. christine Says:

    I’ve heard about the extra luggage charges, and it sounds like it has to be a small carry-on and purse. Very tough.

  7. DrumMajor Says:

    Don’t know about international, but many airlines have charged for checked baggage for awhile. That’s why so many people started to have all carry-on bags, just to avoid the fees. It takes longer to board a plane because people are rustling their bags into the overhead bins. Some airlines have threatened to charge for carry-on bags because of the interior hassle it causes.
    Southwest Airlines has not charged for bags, and hopefully they won’t start. Southwest also has their own website for booking and does not participate in the travel sites.
    They still have the 50 pound limit, and when I’ve traveled for 1+ to 3 weeks, I’ve managed to pre-weigh my bag at 45 pounds. (I have to travel with my CPAP breathing machine, so that’s some of the weight.)
    Be sure and read all the fine print at your airlines website. It gives rules and dimensions of carry-on and checked, plus the updated rules about ounces of liquids in carry-on. Past the security checkpoint, most waiting areas have their own water, drinks, snacks, and restrooms.
    KCI now has check-in counters, but then you carry your check-in luggage to the conveyor belt yourself!
    Good Luck! DrumMajor

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    My David worked til he was 72. He still says he misses work at age 83. I could hardly wait to retire at age 64, although I had planned to go to age 65 and 10 months to collect full SS, I had a stroke which settled the matter.

    I have had wonderful flights on United, which I think is the best airline going to and from Hawaii. I like British Air, or one of the continental airlines flying overseas. Dianne

  9. Denise Says:

    I’m glad David’s boss told him that, now what’s that old saying about the proof is in the pudding? I hope he can work up for as long as he wants to. As for the baggage, I’ve been wondering about that myself. I know about the money up front for luggage. We will be flying in October and I expect we’ll have to pay too.

  10. Kay's Musings Says:

    I just bought a carry-on luggage which I never used before because they’re so cumbersome. With my luck, they really will charge for that also. Art and I often just share a check-in luggage and carry some extra things in our back pack.

    Glad to hear David’s boss is promising to not yell at him.

  11. kawika Says:

    It sounds like M is reading your blog?

  12. Hattie Says:

    I never leave with more than my backpack, which doubles as a purse, and a small hard plastic roll-on that fits easily into the overhead compartment. Terry cares on his small roll-on and his computer. Who wants to lug a bunch of stuff around? Travel light is my motto.

  13. L...w Says:

    If you are Delta Gold /Platinum credit card holder, I think you can get free first baggage for up to 4 people, as often they advertise you will save up to $200 just on baggage fees alone. The card charges an annual fee so I cancelled a long time ago. I don’t think you need to charge your ticket with the credit card. I recall doing that one year and I don’t think I charged the flight with Delta cc. Usually we use our frequent flyer miles or points to fly.

    I try to limit baggage to one plus our two carryons up to the size and weight limits. We bring a portable travel scale and tape measure along, as well as packing tape and permanent marker just in case we make a box to bring home goodies. While airlines like the revenue boon from baggage fees, I think it is a real trip pooper. It certainly discourages me from shopping freely and buying something on a whim to bring home. I wonder if others would let a baggage fee restrict their enjoyment lol, after all I’m err a tightwad.

  14. L...w Says:

    oops…I think you have to at least fly Delta to get that first baggage fee waived showing your Delta credit card. This was a few years ago so I forgot the details.

  15. DrumMajor Says:

    Gigi — I don’t worry about adding purchases to my luggage when traveling. I look for the closest post office or mailing store, and mail a box home to myself of the items I purchased. Although shipping isn’t cheap from Hawaii, it’s still cheaper than the extra or overage baggage fee. DrumMajor

Leave a Reply

