No need for shorts or high heels

scenic Hawaii 012-A

Hawaiian forest.

Today, I am going to attend my first hula class at the Kapiolani Women’s Center, and I am very excited.  I may not be allowed to take any photos of the class to post on my blog tomorrow, so you may just have to imagine the session.  Lol.  I can hardly wait to step on the floor and learn a new hula.  I love Hawaiian music.

I have always enjoyed dancing.  David and I used to take ballroom dance classes every week for almost ten years.  This was before my husband was diagnosed with osteoarthritis.  He can’t dance anymore.  It’s just as well, since I can no longer fit into high heel shoes due to weight gain.

When I was in the sixth grade, I enrolled in ballet classes at the YWCA and had a blast.  Picture me doing the splits and balancing on one leg.  Nearly impossible today.

All things considered, hula for senior citizens is simply perfect for me.  I will be dancing barefoot (no need for high heels) and will be wearing my usual long muumuu (Hawaiian dress), so there is no need to wear shorts and a T-shirt (clothes that I hate to wear).

Wouldn’t you say that this type of exercise is just tailor made for me?

17 Responses to “No need for shorts or high heels”

  1. Kittie Howard Says:

    I lived in Hawaii for nine years and loooooved the hula classes I took. Know the Kapiolani Center. It’s very nice, as is Kapiolani Park. And you’re right, hula dancing is one of the best forms of exercise possible. Enjoy! Enjoy!

    Thanks for your encouragement about our up-coming move. The major push in April paid off as what’s left to do can be done in much easier stages.

    Oh, almost forgot–if you get a chance please take a Tai Chi class. All ages were in my class and all of us fell in love with it. It’s really easy and travels well–one can slip into a group in Kapiolani Park without a problem.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I love to watch Tai Chi; it’s so graceful and serene. The only problem is that I would not be allowed to wear my long muumuu; I would have to wear pants, which I hate.

  2. Olga Says:

    sounds like it meets the basic requirements. have fun!

  3. NRIGirl Says:

    That’s fantastic! Have fun!

  4. Cathy Says:

    Enjoy your time tomorrow Gigi – listen well and then you can give us verbal online lessons (with no pictures). I might have look to see if anyone gives Hula lessons in Melbourne. Do men do hula or is it for women only?
    Cathy

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Cathy, the class will happen today, not tomorrow. Though men do dance the hula, I am not sure if this particular class is open to men, too. I do know that it is restricted to adults, 55 and older.

  5. granny annie Says:

    And for me! Where do I sign up?

  6. suzanne Says:

    That sounds like so much fun. It is a beautiful dance to watch.

  7. DJan Says:

    I look forward to hearing about your new class, Gigi. Have fun! 🙂

  8. Jeanie Says:

    It sounds like you have found the perfect class for you. I like any kind of excercise class that involves dancing.

  9. Denise Says:

    Learning the Hula sounds like a wonderful activity Gigi and I know you’ll have a great time. Dancing is fun in all its forms, except that I definitely cannot shake, rattle and roll any more!

  10. laurie Says:

    it sounds wonderful and if I was there I would be right by your side!

  11. Musings Says:

    Go for it, Gigi! Have a wonderful time! It’ll be wonderful just to meet new people.

  12. christine Says:

    so glad you have found something you will enjoy, it sounds like so much fun!

  13. L...w Says:

    I don’t own a muumuu or dress and now can’t imagine myself in one.
    One day I have to give up wearing jeans all the time…after all I can imagine an 80 yo in muumuu but not jeans. Plus it will be difficult to dress as I would have to struggle with the pant legs and zippers lol

    Have fun with your new adventure!!

  14. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I used to love dancing, and my first husband and I went dancing every week. David is no dancer, however, and now I have osteoarthritis, neither am I.

    Congratulations on your energy. Even if I lose all the weight i am supposed to I won’t wear heels again. Dianne

  15. Joanne Noragon Says:

    Hello, and thanks for visiting. We have not visited each other’s states, but can still enjoy all we read about them. The hula is a beautiful dance and I admire anyone who sets about learning it. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

