Drug resistant super bug?

After weeks of seeing only puny buds for sale at Sack n Save, David was happy to buy these purple chrysanthemums yesterday, just in time for Mother’s Day.  Aren’t they lovely?

purple mums 002-A

purple mums 004-A

On another note, I am perturbed that I have taken SIX different antibiotics since last August.  That’s a lot of antibiotics!

For infected toes, I took Bactrim, Cephalexin, and a drug given to me by a doctor in India. (Toes are cured.)

For the stomach flu (Bacterial gastroenteritis), I took Levaquin. (Flu is cured.)

And for UTI, I took Bactrim, Cipro, and Macrobid. (Still have UTI.)

I have had the UTI since April 3.  On Monday, a second urinalysis was done.  Though the large amount of white blood cells showed there is an infection, the urine sample did not reveal any bacteria, which could be tested for drug resistance.  My internist at Straub Clinic decided to put me on Macrobid for ten days, starting yesterday.

Of course, this all could mean that I have a super bug that is drug resistant.  It hasn’t helped that I have been taking six antibiotics for the past nine months.

David said that the last time he took an antibiotic was back in the 1980s, when he was treated for a testicular infection.  Lucky him!  He will probably respond well to antibiotics in the future.

P.S. Yes, I have been drinking cranberry juice for the past two weeks, but it has not cured the UTI.  I hope the Macrobid does the trick.

15 Responses to “Drug resistant super bug?”

  1. Olga Says:

    Pretty flowers. I really like the color.
    Good luck with that infection. The idea of super bugs is very concerning.

  2. granny annie Says:

    Good luck with curing the UTI. My poor spouse finally wound up in the hospital for four days of IV antibiotics and still had to take more upon his return home. His went on for over a month and I’m not convinced that he is over it yet. Darn bugs!! Hope you get some relief. Are you taking a pro-biotic to counter all the antibiotics. Ron takes one Align pro-biotic capsule daily.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I seem to tolerate all of these antibiotics extremely well. No need for probiotics, yogurt, etc. However, I do try to take the antibiotics after breakfast and dinner, so that certainly helps.

  3. christine Says:

    gosh Gigi, hope you get cured soon. It’s scary about these superbugs. and your Chrysanthemums are BEAUTIFUL! My favourite are the spider chrysanthemums.

  4. DJan Says:

    Those are beautiful mums! I really hate taking antibiotics, but when they are needed, it’s important to take them. Too many does make the bug more resistant to cure, though. Hope this one does the trick.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Cranberry juice and lots of water. I drink so much water my internist told me to drink less because it was washing all the salt out of my body. But I didn’t, I just eat more salt. Water is good. Coffee is better. Dianne

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Oh, I love coffee (Roy’s Kona blend) and drink 6-8 cups per day.But even with caffeine, I always manage to fall sleep and take frequent cat naps during the day.

    • DrumMajor Says:

      Yo Ms. SchmidleysScribbling — Be careful about “just eating more salt” vs. lowering your amount of water. There’s a difference in how the body handles that. Make sure you’ve told your doc about increasing the salt. After about 50 years old, the balance between salt, potassium, magnesium becomes very important, and imbalances cause all kinds of symptoms and hospitalizations.
      Try ice cubes, maybe? Cheers, DrumMajor

  6. DrumMajor Says:

    Dear Gigi — baby steps, baby steps. You only have a “super bug” if they diagnose VRE or MRSA specifically.

    Different antibiotics are prescribed for different types of infections. Your docs are doing the right thing for the right aliment.

    Try the CVS brand of probiotics to help with your gut daily, (90 capsules of “3 million” strength is about $35) not just when you’re taking antibiotics. But for sure, take the one a day probiotic at least two hours before or after your antibiotic, or you’ll defeat the purpose of both. This prevents gas, bloating, diarrhea from taking the course of antibiotics, because most antibiotics “rip out” the natural intestinal flora that is in your gut. That effect is what can cause the “c-diff” type of intestinal runs, that require a different antibiotic to fix that.
    It’s easier to take the probiotic or a lot of yogurt than to start a chain of events towards diarrhea.

    As we age, our bladder’s muscle is thinner, we don’t drink as much because we’d have to go to the bathroom more often. This causes a chain of events leading to more concentrated urine. (When we were sweet and sexy at 20 years old, some of us got bladder infections from messin’ around a lot, causing burning and frequency.) Take a cheap cranberry capsule every day to minimize bladder problems. It’s much easier than drinking jugs of diluted, sugary cranberry “juice.”
    I’ve told my older patients to drink more, because they’re going to go to the bathroom anyway.

    The mums are grand! I think you could plant each bunch in your garden for a colorful section. I got a pot of gerber yellow daisies, and the original blooms have lasted over 3 weeks!

    Good luck, DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      As I said above, I have tolerated the antibiotics extremely well. Doctor L told me to take them with food. So far so good. As for the cranberry capsules, I’ll have David look for them when he shops at Costco tonight. And, maybe, these purple mums might thrive next to the mailbox.

  7. Suzanne Says:

    Good luck! Super bugs are very worrisome. Beautiful flowers!

  8. Denise Says:

    Gigi, I keep hearing that antibiotics are becoming less effective. That’s scary. I do hope you’ll be free and clear of this UTI by your next doctor visit. The purple chrysanthemums David bought are lovely.

  9. L...w Says:

    Good to hear your toe is cured. That was a meanie. I’ve had UTI before and found that drinking beer helps the onset. I told the doctor that as soon as I get that funny feeling something is wrong I drink a beer and the feeling goes away. He said that it’s probably because I was able to fight the germs. In the 80s I had a terrible bout of UTI and remember going to a urologist who put me on a months long regimen of several different antibiotics. He said usually one antibiotic doesn’t rid of all the bacteria. He showed me a graph of kidney function and ??? and said you don’t want to be like this….low bar.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Dear Gigi, I have a few questions re your comment on my blog:
    1/ What does it mean to own a domain?
    2/ How can you tell I own it?
    3/ Why do I get Word Press stuff if it isn’t WP?

    I am confused.

    Sorry to put this here but I don’t know how to reach you via email.

    Dianne

Leave a Reply

