Are you absent minded, too?

scenic Hawaii 009-A

Hawaiian seascape.

Do you tend to be absent minded?  It’s too bad if you do.

Though I am not that way, David and our kids are really absent minded.

For example, David went to Chevron the other day to pump gas into my car.  He wanted to pay for it with American Express, but when he checked his wallet, it wasn’t there.  He then returned home and looked around the dresser in our bedroom, but no luck.  Where could it be?  I told him to check the washing machine, and, lo, there it was.  He must have left the card in his pocket during a previous transaction.

Over the years, I have found coins, paper clips, rubber bands, and other items in the washing machine – all belonging to David.  You might say that I should check his pockets before putting his clothes in the washing machine, but, no thank you.  That’s not my style.

As for Maria, I gave her a check for $100 when she came by to pick up her son.  The next day, she emailed me that she had lost the check somehow.  David put a stop payment on that check, and we mailed Maria another check for $70 ($100 minus $30 for the bank fee).  Tough lesson.

Many times during their adolescence, both Maria and Lisa phoned me to go to their bedroom and look for their ID or driver’s license.  If I found it, they would come by to retrieve it.

Honestly, I am much older than David and our children, but I am not absent minded.  Oh, there was that one time back in the 1980s when I forgot my purse in the shopping cart in the parking lot.  Grrr…!!!

How about you?  Are you absent minded, too?  Lol.

15 Responses to “Are you absent minded, too?”

  1. granny annie Says:

    I AM WONDER WOMAN:)

    From Chatty Crone on Thursday.

    I am Wonder Woman.
    I wonder where I left my keys.
    I wonder how I put on weight.
    I wonder where my money went.
    I wonder where I put my phone.
    I wonder…I wonder…I wonder

  2. Jeanie Says:

    I might be absent minded, or maybe not…….I forget.
    Seriously, I keep pretty good track of things and make lots of list to remind myself to do things.

  3. laurie Says:

    I love grannie Annie’s reply!!! I am absent minded sometimes when hurry to much, I do put things in strange spots,

  4. Joanne Says:

    Someone has to be the gate keeper, like it or not.

  5. DJan Says:

    I have a system for remembering things, and mostly it helps me remember. But now and then I will find my car unlocked and realize I forgot to lock it. These things happen to most of us, I think. You are the exception that proves the rule. 🙂

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I always write a list of what I need to do. I find I don’t actually need to use the list because the act of writing it down seals it in my memory.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Once in a blue moon I forget something. David forgets about one of every three things. Lately, if I tell him something, I say focus before I speak. He needs to do this or else he will lose it. He also washes his own clothes and has for years. He acquired that skill when he was single and as we both worked, I encouraged him to continue washing his clothes after we were married.

    He got angry shortly after we were married because he asked me to sew on a button, and I told him NO. Both my boys could sew on a missing button and I am not his mother. Dianne

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Ha! Since I gave my sewing machine to Maria and I hate to sew, hubby takes his mending jobs to the tailor at a dry cleaners down the street.

  8. christine Says:

    I can be absent minded about certain things, but nothing too important so far, thank goodness. My husband has forgotten his phone and driver’s licence at home on 2 separate incidents, usually when he is rushing around.

  9. L...w Says:

    I have noticed getting more absent minded lately. But so far I haven’t lost or misplaced a credit card. But husband has forgotten his wallet and cell phone many times and it’s usually when he changes pants. Fortunately women don’t have to use pockets to hold all their things.

  10. Olga Says:

    I am thinking that you did not read my post of November 17, 2012, in which the true part was about losing my purse in the grocery store or you wouldn’t ask.
    I once stuck my credit card in a coat pocket after a gas fill-up. We left for a vacation trip the next day…without that particular jacket.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am fine as long as I don’t get distracted by someone. Like the time I had the kids and we parked at a parking lot in a park. I got the kids bikes out of the van, got their helmets on, and collected what I needed, and off we went, me walking. About an hour later, we returned to the car, where I found the driver’s door wide open, just as I had left it!!! This is the first time I have told anyone about that slip up. I was shocked, and very glad I still had a van!

    • gigihawaii Says:

      That reminds me of the time my SIL was babysitting my kids while we were on a trip. When David and I returned in a taxi, we saw the front door of the house wide open. Our SIL had taken the kids to her place and forgot to shut and lock the door. Boy, were we glad no one had stolen our valuables!

  12. Beatrice Says:

    I am a dreamer – sometimes ….. ✿

Leave a Reply

