Pregnant?

scenic Hawaii 011-A

Hawaiian brook.

Hawaii news anchor Stephanie Lum did a special report last night on her pregnancy via in vitro fertilization.  She and her husband had tried to have a baby the normal way, but because of her endometriosis, a major cause of infertility, they were unsuccessful. Now, they are expecting a baby boy in a few months.  Congratulations to the happy couple.

I did not realize that IVF was so expensive.  Without insurance, it costs $10,000 – $12,000.  Hawaii law requires that insurance companies cover at least one cycle, but even with insurance, it will cost $3,000 – $5,000, and this does not include fertility drugs and other costs.

Wow!  I am so glad I was able to conceive the normal way.  David and I have two adult daughters, and the elder one has produced two fine grandchildren.  We are so grateful that our offspring are healthy, intelligent, and independent.

My brother and his wife adopted their son and daughter from Korea, and had no regrets.  However, I know two couples, who opted to not have any children, because they were too busy with their professional careers.

I wouldn’t trade my kids for the world!  We are looking forward to our younger daughter’s arrival here on Sunday.  She will have a short break and then will return to the mainland for two more years of graduate school.  David and I hope she will be able to settle in Hawaii after she graduates.

I love family life, don’t you?

15 Responses to “Pregnant?”

  1. Olga Says:

    I not only love my children, I genuinely like them as people. It is a good feeling. I wish my grand children lived closer to me.

  2. Jeanie Says:

    So much of my life involves my kids and grandkids…..it is hard to imagine what it would be like without them.

  3. DJan Says:

    My niece was conceived with IVF, and I know it’s expensive. I am so glad that you love your family life, Gigi, and it only makes me a tiny bit envious. 🙂

  4. Beatrice Says:

    I love to be alone……. enjoy my independency…..family every now and then is enough for me 🙂

  5. suzanne Says:

    IVF is expensive. I know people that have used it a few times. Shew!! Well worth it though once you see those cute little faces.

  6. Christine Says:

    we are family people Gigi! I do know international adoptions are very expensive, like $30,000.

  7. Christine Says:

    by the way, my daughter does more detailed art than me, she has made some nice pieces as she did a lot of art in high school.

  8. granny annie Says:

    I had several friends who opted not to have children. They had fun and exciting lives and were able to afford lots of things those of us with kids could not. Now we are all old and they do not have anyone to rely on. We have children surrounding us to take shifts helping us when we need help. I often wonder if those who did not choose to have children regret it now.

    By the way, your title for this post sure grabbed my attention. LOL

  9. Denise Says:

    I had heard this procedure is very expensive and also adoptions too. We were blessed with a healthy child. We were not to have any more but the joy we had with him more than made up for it.

  10. LC Says:

    Love my family. I do not establish close relationships easily, and I admire those without family who establish a network of close friends of all ages. I am so glad for our sons, daughters-in-law, grands, cousins, and my husbands mom, siblings, and their spouses and kids. The best kind of wealth!

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I was thinking about your daughter today and wondering if she would move back to Hawaii when she completes her training. Dianne

  12. L...w Says:

    My children and their spouses are my support network. Your relationship with your children are the closest kind (children love their parents unconditionally I once heard, not sure if it is also the other way around tho). It is sad that some will never know this kind of trust and love. I guess that’s why pets fill the void.

  13. vagabonde Says:

    We have two grown daughters and we are so proud of them. I have not been on blogs lately because my youngest daughter had another baby last Friday May 10th – a baby daughter (she already has 3 sons 6, 4 and 2 years old) and I don’t know how she manages. It was a thrill to see the wee new baby.

  14. DrumMajor Says:

    Hope you have fun when the future Physical Therapist is home. Be ready for her to need to “practice” on you, and that you should be a good, compliant “patient!” DrumMajor

Leave a Reply

