That won’t happen in a million years!

rings 006-A

Many years ago, my sister, Sylvia, gave me this amethyst ring, and my mother gave me this jade ring for my birthday.  As you can see, I have gained so much weight that the rings cannot pass my knuckles.  I have decided to have them resized.  It won’t cost a lot to do that.  These rings have sentimental value, and they should be worn by the recipient.  No sense storing them away, unworn.  To do so would be an insult to Sylvia and Mom!

When I toured India last November, I walked so much that I lost 15 lbs.  My doctor was shocked.  He wanted to know if I had been on a stringent diet.  No, it was just the constant walking that had caused me to lose weight.

Since November, I have gained back 7 pounds, and it shows around my girth.  In fact, my entire mid-section is fat.

Solution?  Go on another trip.

As you know, David and I will be traveling to Miami, Florida and Washington, D.C., in a few months.  We can’t wait to get off this rock in the middle of the Pacific and meet friends for dinner on the East coast.

And need I mention that we will be walking and walking and walking here, there, and everywhere?  It’s guaranteed that we will lose weight that way.

However, I will never be as skinny as I was when Sylvia and Mom presented me with these lovely rings.  That won’t happen in a million years!  Guaranteed!

13 Responses to “That won’t happen in a million years!”

  1. NRIGirl Says:

    I must confess I have an obsession with rings. These are lovely Gigi! What a great idea to get them resized!

  2. Olga Says:

    You know the adage–never say never? Washington, D.C. is very much a walking city and a great place to visit. So much to do and so much of it is free, too.

  3. Christine Says:

    The rings are beautiful. Yes, exercise is so important.

  4. DJan Says:

    They are lovely rings and deserve to be worn. Resizing them is the key to having them fit again.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    Your rings are very pretty. I think you will really enjoy wearing them once you get them re-sized.

  6. granny annie Says:

    I gain and lose weight so often that my many heirloom rings can be worn from one size to the next,

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You never know. You might be that skinny again. Yes, get the rings resized. I expect to see them in August. With you wearing them of course. Dianne

  8. R.J. Says:

    “Go on another trip” is always a great philosophy. If it makes you happy, do it.

  9. L...w Says:

    Funny I have gained so much weight too, but not so much on my fingers. But during the course of a day, the ring can go from being snug to so loose I have to be careful it doesn’t fall off.

  10. suzanne Says:

    Those rings are beautiful.

  11. Joanne Says:

    Yes, get those beauties resized and wear them!

  12. Denise Says:

    We are waiting for you to come to Washington Gigi, can’t wait to meet you and David.

    Those rings are stunning. It’s a good thing to get them resized. I could not wear my wedding band and engagement ring for a long time and finally realized my fingers were not going to be back to the way they were. I had them resized.

    Isn’t it interesting how we lose weight on vacations? I remember the days by the time I came home my clothes would be falling off me and I ate all the wonderful holiday food on top of that. I walk quite a bit now because I love it so much, but the weight is being more stubborn in my 60s.

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have rings that I can’t wear anymore, including my wedding rings. For a while it was because my hands were too fat, but now that I have lost weight, it’s because all of my knuckles are enlarged with arthritis. Some day I’ll give my rings to my granddaughter.

Leave a Reply

