Are you superstitious?

fortune cookie 001-A

There were two fortune cookies that came with our take out Chinese dinner last night.  We broke these cookies in half and pulled out a strip of paper with words on it.

Since we are going on vacation soon, David was excited to read his fortune:  “You will be traveling and coming into a fortune.”  (Let it be so!)

My fortune: “Many people are seeking you for your sound advice.” (I like David’s fortune better.  Lol.)

I don’t consider myself a superstitious person.  However, when I was living in Munich, Germany in 1969, I befriended a middle aged German woman.  During lunch one day, she counted the folds in my wrist and announced:  “You will die when you are 50.”

At the time, I was 23 years old.  This woman’s forecast bothered me, and when I finally passed the age of 50 alive and well, I did breathe a sigh of relief.

And now, I am 67.  As I age, I wonder how long my luck will hold out.  My mother is 97 (still alive with dementia), but my father died of colon cancer when he was 87. How old will I be when I die?

Are you too busy living to think of dying?  Are you superstitious?

12 Responses to “Are you superstitious?”

  1. R.J. Says:

    Such a provocative question. I have to refer to Webster’s dictionary with which I agree: “a : a belief or practice resulting from ignorance, fear of the unknown, trust in magic or chance, or a false conception of causation
    b : an irrational abject attitude of mind toward the supernatural, nature, or God resulting from superstition.”

  2. Christine Says:

    I am a bit superstitious although I think the number 13 is lucky for me. And I do think of death from time to time, not just mine, my loved ones.

  3. Olga Says:

    Unfortunately, I was forced to think about death a bit too often over the last 18 months or so, having lost a number of friends and family members. Did this cause me to pause and reflect on my own mortality? No. I have yet to admit in my own head that I have even passed my 40th birthday–even tho’ my own daughter will turn 40 this summer.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    I think I am superstitious about a few little things, but not about death. Since my parents both died in the 50s I am grateful to be well beyond that.

  5. Denise Says:

    I try to tell myself I am not superstitious but if I was honest I would say that I am, a little. I wrote recently about the Law of Three’s. My mother was always afraid of the gypsy ladies who would knock on the door. If you didn’t buy their lucky heather she would say, they will put a curse on your head and she wouldn’t answer the door. I won’t answer the door because of security reasons. If I don’t recognize them I won’t open the door. As far as dying, my parents and my sister passed far too early. As none of us know what is around the corner, I live my days and count each day as a blessing and I don’t think about dying too much.

  6. granny annie Says:

    I do not want to think that I am superstitious but my paternal grandfather was wo seriously so that I cannot help but shutter a bit when a black cat crosses in front of me, or I have to walk under a ladder, or I someone opens an umbrella in the house. The other day we left home without Ron’s pain pills and we simply had to go back and get them. I worried the whole trip because my grandpa said never go back for anything or your trip will face disaster. He could have left his false teeth and he would do without them until his next trip before he would go back for them.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    R.J.’s dictionary definition really says it for me. No, I am not superstitious, but it’s funny how common superstitious acts, like black cats and so on, can trigger a reaction.
    Yes, I do think about my own death. I think it’s pretty normal once we’ve reached a certain age.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I’m going to live to be very old. I will need a fortune. Good for David getting his soon. Dianne

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Heeding your suggestion, I reworked my post today. Would appreciate your feedback. Danka

  10. DJan Says:

    I’m a little bit superstitious, I admit. I’ve made well over 4,000 skydives and I always wear the same earrings. Once I lost one of them and found it again. But in my mind I had decided it was all right not to have it, although once I found it I have never failed to wear them both. 🙂

  11. jenjilks Says:

    I’m not superstitious! I believe fate and the universe unfolds as it should. We can look after ourselves and eat properly, exercise, socialize, sleep!

  12. L...w Says:

    I don’t think anyone should foretell another person’s death to the exact date. Glad you didn’t let that become a self fulfilling prophecy. The horrible warning could have also caused you to be extra careful about taking risks when you approached your 50th. I guess predictions are such that if the fortune teller sees a strong likelihood that such and such will happen, it allows you can modify your behavior abd will a different outcome.

Leave a Reply

