Movies

scenic Hawaii 016-A

Hawaiian seascape.

Lisa has been home since Sunday morning and has been socializing with her many friends.  It is amazing how well liked she is.  She has gone hiking with them at Koko Head and in Olomana.

Last night, she and her friends saw The Great Gatsby.  I asked her how it was.  She said, “You would not like it, because it is too 2013 (hip hop music).”  However, she said that she enjoyed it and found herself weeping.

Hmmm.  I remember that the same movie, starring Mia Farrow and Robert Redford, bombed at the box office in the 1970s.  Don’t know why.  But even back then, I had no desire to see it.  Never read the book, either.

Ah, well, David will probably rent the current version on Netflix.  Have you seen The Great Gatsby?

Very few movies interest me these days.  A new one by Woody Allen is due out this summer.  Wonder where it was filmed.  His last two movies were shot in Paris and in Rome, and I enjoyed both.  I guess I share Woody’s wacky sense of humor and I love the romantic locales of his films.

13 Responses to “Movies”

  1. Christine Says:

    The Great Gatsby doesn’t appeal to me either, but then neither does Woody Allen. I just don’t like him because of what I’ve read about his personal life.

  2. Olga Says:

    I did see the Farrow-Redford version, but not the new release. I rarely go to the movies anymore. I have read the book–the characters are not likeable people–but Redford/DiCaprio, that could make up for a lot.
    I have not seen Woody Allen’s newer movies, but I did like his early stuff. I separate judgment of one’s art and one’s personal life. Otherwise, my life would be almost completely devoid of any kind of art.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yeah, I agree with you, Olga. It wasn’t right for him to have an affair with his mistress’ daughter, but they have been married for decades now and have 2 teenage daughters together. Seems like a stable marriage. Because of his sordid past, it is easy to forget that Woody Allen is a genius.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I saw the movie and I read the book for an American literature class. Overrated as most of the books by these 1920s male authors were. I don’t know if they assign them (Hemingway and company) in American literature anymore. Dianne

    PS Thanks for your feedback.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I put “and company” because this morning I am having difficulty remembering names. I mean F. Scott Fitzgerald of course. D~

  5. Joanne Says:

    My grandson read Gatsby for his English class and I helped him find all the points he would be tested on. Yetch; I never liked the book. He saw the film, also a class requirement and said I would have hated it, but he liked it. See the depiction of the wild parties and mindless living added dimension to his understanding of the book.

  6. DJan Says:

    I haven’t seen it, but it’s not on my list of things to see. I am a DiCaprio fan, though. I think he’s a very talented actor.

  7. granny annie Says:

    I could never trust Woody Allen after he had a physical relationship with his daughter, I don’t care how well it turned out and I would always fear for his daughters now in their home. I do not support his movies. I also will not view anything by Roman Polanski, the confessed pedophile. Taking advantage of children is never a forgivable offense in my book.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Well, Woody Allen was not her real father, and she was already an adult. What he did was immoral, but not illegal. Besides, he was not married to her mother.

      What Polanski did was illegal, because the girl was a minor. I saw her on television, and she admitted that she had not been a virgin at the time and actually had had a number of lovers before then.

      Ah, well, c’est la vie.

  8. mageb Says:

    Not seeing Gatsby, but loved Kon Tiki, and am looking forward to the second Reds.

  9. L...w Says:

    Read Great Gatsby for high school English class. It was an OK book. What’s interesting is the period of history that was the backdrop and how well it echos today.

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    Glad Lisa having some fun.
    My “kid” is going to the ballgame with some vet school classmates. I’m glad he’s getting a breather.
    I think “Mr. & Mrs. Smith” was a good movie about the ’20s, filmed and about K.C.
    Cheers, DrumMajor

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I am interested in seeing the movie. Maybe tonight. I am also interested in the new Lone Ranger movie coming out soon, with Johnny Depp as Tonto. And, yes, I saw the former Gatsby movie and have read the book.
    As with most “great literature”, the characters are full of fatal flaws and the overall tone is depressing. Why is that?

Leave a Reply

