Flo’s art

Flo's art 005-A

Isn’t this painting lovely?  It draws you in, doesn’t it?  I saw this piece on my college classmate Florence’s wall yesterday, when David and I were having lunch at her home.  Flo Miyahira has been painting since 2009 and does only oils.  I made an offer on this painting, and she accepted.  Thanks, Flo!  David has already hung it up on our wall.

We had fun chatting with her family.  Her older daughter is married to an English man, and together they have a cute Eurasian three year old son.  Flo’s younger daughter is also married, but does not have children.

Retirement:  Isn’t that on everybody’s mind?  David and I are amazed at how well Flo and Ray are doing these days; both are retired.  David hopes he can be as well off as Ray is.

We enjoyed the lox and bagels and salad for lunch.  Then we strolled through their garden, filled with orchids and other flowering plants.  They even have a macadamia nut tree.  Imagine that!  The birds like to eat the nuts.

Flo dotes on her three Chihuahuas, who are very well trained.  Someday, I would like to adopt a small dog, but it will probably be when our traveling days are over.

We will keep in touch and will invite Flo and Ray to our home for lunch soon.  Meanwhile, she says she has been reading my blog.

Please, say hello to my friend, Flo, in your comments.

15 Responses to “Flo’s art”

  1. Olga Says:

    Hello, Flo. Your painting is very beautiful. Lucky Gigi to have it hanging in her home.

  2. DJan Says:

    Your painting is really lovely, Flo. Welcome to the world of blogging! Maybe you will start one of your own. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    wow is all I can say to Flo’s painting! What a lovely get together.

  4. granny annie Says:

    Lovely work Flo! How wonderful that David and Gigi were able to acquire it. It is always flattering to have friends purchase your work. We had an aunt who gifted my mother a painting of Armageddon and it was a horrible topic and a horrible piece of art and it went in the closet the minute they left. Thankfully they lived in Florida and didn’t visit often.

  5. suzanne Says:

    Hi Flo!! Lovely painting. What a fun day you guys had.

  6. LC Says:

    Flo, your painting is lovely. I am a wannabe gardener. The next best thing to enjoying a garden of my own is to enjoy blogging friends’ beautiful gardens, even your beautiful garden on Gigi’s wall!

  7. L...w Says:

    I’m inspired. I’m working on an acrylic canvas kit for kids with my granddaughter lol…my first attempt at painting. I hope one day to be confident enough to try oil, and paint as well as Flo. I love the deep colors especially the particular purple used.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Hi Flo, I love the red bench. Gardens are great, tell Gigi she needs one. Dianne

  9. Flo Miyahira Says:

    Thank you Gigi for including my painting on your blog. A first for me to read a blog and am captivated by your stories! Thank you to your many friends for their encouraging comments.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Flo, you really should start your own blog. Mine is free of charge. I use WordPress.com for free. Don’t use WordPress.ORG (which is not free and requires more sophisticated computer skills). Call me if you want more information.

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    Flo, wonderful style of painting!
    Gigi — should you ever be in Kansas, nope, you can’t buy my Casaday Hawaii prints….they’re going with me!
    DrumMajor

  11. Denise Says:

    Hello Gigi and hello Flo, I love your artwork Flo!!!

    Thoughts of retirement are definitely in our heads. I am not sure when we see you in August whether Gregg will be retired or not. His definite date for retirement as he has told his boss is at the end of September, shortly before we go over to Germany to attend our niece’s wedding. It could be earlier but we’ll have to wait and see.

  12. Joanne Says:

    Hello to both of you. The bench in a gazebo is a lovely painting! So is retirement. Best wishes on the future of both activities.

  13. jenjilks Says:

    I would love to be able to paint this!

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    Hi, Flo. I can tell from your painting that you are a gardener. I imagine yours is beautiful, as is your painting.

Leave a Reply

