Sleep disorder

scenic Hawaii 006-A

Hawaiian seascape.

I am writing this post after midnight, and, boy, am I hungry.  It is taking will power to avoid the freezer.  No, sir, no ice cream for me and no food after 7 pm.  I am trying so hard to lose weight, especially around my girth.

Lately, I have had trouble staying asleep through the night. I can sleep only in two hour increments.  I don’t have any trouble falling asleep.  It’s remaining asleep that is difficult.

David had a similar problem and was diagnosed with apnea and restless leg syndrome last year.  His apnea was deemed too mild to treat.  He has been taking Mirapex for restless leg syndrome. The Mirapex helps him sleep through the night without waking up so that he does not feel as tired.

I intend to lose weight and reduce the potbelly that presses against my diaphragm when I lie in bed.  I am also drinking decaffeinated coffee in the morning, instead of regular. No more Diet Pepsi.

I’ll make an appointment with the neurologist in charge of the Sleep Disorder Clinic.

Do you have trouble remaining asleep?  What is your remedy?

18 Responses to “Sleep disorder”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Hello Gigi
    I can sympathise with your problem – its name is parasomnia – I’ve had the 2 hour sleep cycle before and I found it quite annoying. All my GP said was – turn the clock away from you and try not to look at it when you wake because apart from stressing you that little bit of light upsets the whole rythym lol

    Have you tried going to bed earlier – getting more exercise – having a wam bath at bedtime – even having a little nana nap early in the afternoon ? These were all recommended by friends. Try googling the problem and see what others have to say.

    I have found the earlier bedtime seems to be working at the moment so we now make our way there about 10pm even if the light doesn’t go out till later. Thankfully my 2 hour troubles seem to have gone – but thats not to say they won’t return!

    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Cathy Says:

    Gigi I forgot to mention another thing the Dr said (and I’ve seen it elsewhere) – come off the computer about an hour before bedtime – even if you do fall asleep straight away the light from the screen has some sort of effect on your eyes and disturbs the sleep cycle
    Cathy

  3. Olga Says:

    I did have trouble sleeping for a very long time–both getting to sleep and staying asleep. I went through the whole sleep study and then group behavior modification therapy. It worked. I still have times when I will wake up during the night, but when it happens I don’t stress and can go back to sleep.

  4. Christine Says:

    Lately I haven’t been sleeping well, 4 or 5 hours of sleep some nights, but then it goes back to normal.

  5. DJan Says:

    I have periods when I feel stressed about things that causes me to sleep poorly. I fall asleep easily and then wake up and can’t get back to sleep. I take melatonin in the evening to help me sleep, and it seems to help unless I’m stressing about something.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I hope you find an answer, Gigi. Poor sleep is a real problem. I usually sleep pretty well, but I always wake up by around 6 a.m.

  7. L...w Says:

    I have trouble getting more than 5 hours sleep some nights. I find it’s true that seeing what time it is as soon as I get up is a stressor which prevents me from falling back asleep. When I complain that I didn’t get enough sleep, husband tells me, “you can try again tomorrow night” (since it is useless to get upset over it.) What usually wakes me up is having to go to the bathroom. When I can’t fall back asleep, I find it useless to lie in bed so I get up and sit at my desk. I’m a morning person and always do desk work first thing every morning. Sometimes I think being “hooked” to the world with the computer creates stress and may be the cause of losing sleep. Or is it just plain aging. My father has broken sleep too. He works 8 hours around the house and falls asleep around 7:00pm, then gets up again late at night.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I have good nights and bad nights. I was worried about one of my granddaughters two nights ago and kept fretting most of the night. Next night I slept better and actually got my 6 hours last night.

    These things help: losing weight, running an air filter in my bedroom and cleaning air ducts so I can breathe, new mattress and cover. If I get hungry at night I have a glass of milk and sometimes cookies….it helps. Dianne

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I wonder if an air filter will help David’s allergy. He has trouble breathing with a clogged sinus. I will ask him to buy one. Right now, he uses nose strips and takes Allegra D12, which also help.

  9. R.J. Says:

    I like reading all the helpful suggestions. I found it helps to close all doors in the bedroom, put up black out shades on windows, and cover all little lights like on clocks, humidifiers, or TV sets. I sleep better when there is no light in the room.

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    Shall we place a bet that your sleep problem is sleep apnea? Do you snore?
    Don’t know if your insurance requires a reference to the sleep lab from your Internist, cardiologist, or pulmonologist. May want to check.
    It used to be that docs referred people to sleep studies because of snoring and it’s interference in the marriage. Now, many referrals are coming from cardiologists.
    I had slight flutters when relaxing after 14-hour days. The cardiologist had me wear a one-month device to place on my chest as soon as I felt a flutter. They determined is was not the heart rhythm. He sent me to a sleep study, in which I swore I never slept. The techs said I did sleep, but did not breath on average of one-fourth of the time! CPAP machine (continuous positive airway pressure) has helped me rest more, breath better, and the flutters disappeared!
    The brain, heart, and rest of the body really like oxygen all of the time! Good Luck, DrumMajor

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Obesity is also a problem. Lose weight! No need for a referral to the neurologist, who makes the decision as to whether a sleep study is warranted. Insurance pays for part of it. Balance of $400 to be paid by the patient.

  11. Denise Says:

    I am the same way. I wake up after a couple of hours but this has been going on for a long time and I am used to it. I do get a sleep deficit when it all catches up with me and then I will have a good night’s sleep andI ‘go under’ so deeply that hardly anything wakes me up.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    I go through periods when I sleep well, times when I have trouble because of pain, and other times when I hit a period of insomnia, have trouble getting to sleep and staying asleep. It’s hard when it’s happening, but usually remedies itself when I get so sleep deprived that sleep finally comes again.
    When I can’t sleep I usually get up and do something else for a while, like going on line and reading blogs.

  13. Sleep Disorders Says:

    I have sleep apnea mine is due to sinus surgery, It is absolutely essential that you get a sleep study done as recommended above, I’m a bus driver and it took me falling asleep at the wheel to scare me enough to go and take care of the issue.

Leave a Reply

