Vegetables sound so boring

scenic Hawaii 009-A

Hawaiian seascape.

A relative of mine has gone on a diet that has resulted in extreme weight loss.  She looks good, though tired.  She wants to lose even more weight.

When I asked her what her diet consisted of, she replied that she eats lots of vegetables and only occasionally does she eat meat.  One day a week, she fasts by drinking black coffee, black tea, and broth.  She avoids carbohydrates of any kind.

I was sort of tempted to try this diet, but then remembered how I gained back all of my weight and even more pounds when I resumed my normal diet.

What is my normal diet?  Well, I usually eat meat once a day with a small serving of jasmine-brown rice and vegetables.  For dessert, I eat fruits, jello, cake, cookies, or ice cream. For breakfast and lunch, I eat a sandwich or waffle.

I tried my sister Sylvia’s vegan food from her restaurant for six months, and found myself really missing meat and dairy products.  I don’t think I’ll ever become a vegan or vegetarian again.

Ribeye steak?  Pizza?  Salmon?  Chicken? Lobster?  Shrimp?  Bring it on!  I love that kind of protein.  As long as my lab scores for cholesterol and triglycerides are normal, what the heck?  I might as well enjoy myself, right?

Oreo cookies?  Okay, just one, though my glucose scores are normal, also.

How do you feel about losing weight by becoming a vegan or vegetarian?  Wouldn’t you miss a sizzling ribeye steak or sweet honey walnut shrimp now and then?

How would you handle your craving for more variety in your diet?  To me, vegetables sound so boring!

11 Responses to “Vegetables sound so boring”

  1. beedoo747 Says:

    I think for different bodies, different things work. Low carb can work very well especially for people like me who are a bit insulin resistant.

    On the other hand, Paleo or primal can be a really good way to go for people with insulin resistance, too. Especially the no sugar thing.

    On yet another hand, the time of day that meals are eaten can have a big effect on weight, too.

    I find if I have too many carbs, I get sooo tired. It can put me to sleep, out of nowhere, as a surprise. So I tend to avoid them.

    I think if you wanted to, you could take this diet of hers and adjust it to suit yourself. EG veg with meat, steering clear of carbs or choosing low carb options, lowering sugar if that suits you – switching to a lower GI form of sugar can be useful too, I like coconut sugar or maple syrup.

    I like to try and have dessert in the “afternoon” though my afternoon is something like 2-2:30am, I’m on the late shift at work. So my daily routine runs like –

    5pm get up, breakfast (small bowl of cereal), go to work at 6 with coffee sweetened with maple syrup, 8pm apple snack, 10pm banana snack, finish work at midnight, 12:15 dinner (my big meal of the day) 2am sweet snack dessert, 4am last snack (usually rice cracker crispbread with cream cheese, and then one or two of the following – avocado, egg, cheese, pickled onion, chicken or turkey, then bed sometime between 6-8am.

    I am not a big variety person to be honest, I am more a routine person. 🙂 When I find a snack that works out in my schedule, especially my work schedule, I like to stick with it. If I run out of that thing, I find it difficult to replace the snack with something else, and if the only replacement option is an unhealthy option unfortunately that will be what I pick. So I try to keep healthy options available and not allow there to be room for bad choices.

  2. Olga Says:

    It is always such a struggle lately–one that I was completely unprepared for, not having any kind of weight worries until I hit 45 or so. I do love vegetables, but I am not a vegetarian. I eat red meat once in a while but vastly prefer chicken or fish. I have not made a religion out of any religion–I am not going to do that with my diet.

  3. Joanne Says:

    I have no advice; my strategy has always been eat reasonably. I also eat four small meals a day. An occasional indulgence, but I know a piece of cheese cake is two pounds that I must shed. Is it worth it?

  4. DJan Says:

    I haven’t eaten red meat in almost half a century now. I haven’t missed it at all. I’m still eating salmon and other fish, but not often. The things I avoid are sugar of any kind and for the past two years, wheat. This makes it harder, but not impossible, to gain weight. Sugar, for me, is the really bad food. I don’t think extreme diets are healthy.

  5. Christine Says:

    I have found that I’m so used to meat, it would be difficult to go vegan. It always feels like something is missing and that I’m not completely full. I think our hormones and metabolism changes as we age. I try to limit my bread, rice and potatoes to the equivalent of 6 slices of bread per day, but sometimes I go over! Your diet sounds fine except for the cake cookies and ice cream, lol.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    My friend Sherry read your comment on my post and wrote a comment to you. I tried to copy it here and could not.?? Sherry lives in FL all her life and recommends some places to visit.

    PS all of FL is FLAT. Dianne

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Weight Watchers is the way to go. Check it out. It works without a lot of pain. Dianne

  8. Denise Says:

    I try to fix a lot of vegetarian meals but Gregg always says you know what would be good with this? And I’ll ask “What?” “Meat!” This is followed by a roll of the eyes (mine). It’s a dance we’ve played for quite a while. Last night I had a winner. I fixed a totally vegetarian meal with just a combination of roasted veggies and beans. He enjoyed that and there was no question of where the meat was. My niece is a vegan and has all kind of health issues. Her doctor told her she should put more protein in her diet so now she will eat fish.

  9. Grannymar Says:

    I am not a diet person, I prefer to eat just a little less and come away from the table feeling like I could eat some more.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I eat everything, just less of it. I love vegetables, like meat, but not too much, and I crave sweets and salt. Having a little of all of these things helps with cravings, and is a healthy way to eat, and can be sustained to maintain weight loss. The real key is exercise. It you wanna’ eat, you gotta’ move.

  11. L...w Says:

    I am gaining a few pounds myself…I think it is all the chips I snack on in the car and in front of the computer. Generally, I like to eat cheap and healthy, or cheapest healthiest is that is not an oxymoron lol

Leave a Reply

