Feeling so sorry for my friend…

Julia and Rylan 001-A

Julia and Rylan love to play with my puppets.

Julia and Rylan 002-A

Here’s the puppet tucker that my mother made for me for a puppetry class I was taking at the University of Hawaii in 1985 – long before my grandkids were even born.  Imagine that!  It’s being put to good use now.

My grandkids were here yesterday and they will be here again today.  Yesterday, Lisa took them to the public library and then to McDonald’s to have lunch and play in the playground.  Maria picked them up at 1:30, and it was nap time on the way home.

I am truly grateful to have such healthy and normal daughters and grandchildren.

I feel so sorry for my friend, Debbie, whose daughter has severe cerebral palsy and can’t do anything for herself.  She can’t even speak, much less walk and feed herself.   But, her parents still love her dearly.

When I am feeling blue, I always think of Debbie and her child, and I count my blessings.

You should, too.

13 Responses to “Feeling so sorry for my friend…”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Yes! Or turn on the news. I was stressing a few weeks ago, turned on the news and read about the three women freed after being held captive for 10-years. My day suddenly looked very good.

  2. Olga Says:

    Your grand children are adorable. This was a good reminder and one I needed today!

  3. granny annie Says:

    I count my blessings when I count the troubles of others.

  4. Kay G. Says:

    One of may favorite books from my childhood was “Karen” by Marie Killilea. It is a true story about a young girl with cerebal palsy and the mother is a devout Catholic. That story of love and faith has never left me.
    Also, I love puppets! Have you ever seen any of the movies directed by Julie Taymor? She almost also has some puppets worked in her movies somewhere!
    I count my blessings everyday, but I am thankful for the reminder! xx

  5. R.J. Says:

    It is fun to have grandchildren. I think they keep us young.

  6. Christine Says:

    Yes Gigi you are very lucky.

  7. DJan Says:

    I love that puppet holder, Gigi. And yes, you are indeed very fortunate. 🙂

  8. jenjilks Says:

    As a special education teacher, I thanked my lucky stars. I also felt there are lessons to be learned, and many gifts received from special children. My hospice clients teach me much, too!
    Cheers from Cottage Country!

  9. Joanne Says:

    Puppets thrive on imagination.

  10. Grannymar Says:

    Lovely to see your granchildren playing with the puppets.

  11. Beatrice Says:

    My neighbour is only 33, like my sons, and has MS!
    This is very sad, but she is a tough girl.
    She is always in her wheelchair and can’t walk.
    She has a puppy now (Flatcoated Retriever) which she
    educates as an assistance dog to help her in every day issues….
    I am glad my sons are healthy!
    ~❀♥❀~
    Beatrice

  12. L...w Says:

    I think the reason for your good fortune (having fine offspring) is good genes, values and sense of style and taste which you live by. It seems you have never compromised the person you are, but lived gallantly. That’s my observation from cyberspace lol

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    Even with the recent upset in our family, I know how fortunate we are.

Leave a Reply

