Party at Little Village

As a family, we got together at Little Village Restaurant in Chinatown to say hello to my younger daughter, Lisa, and to my second cousin, Haili, both vacationing in Hawaii for a short time.

Little Village party 011-A

Haili and Lisa.

Little Village party 014-A

Shanna and Travis.

Little Village party 024-A

Maria cuddles Rylan, with Sylvia and Pete in the background.

Little Village party 027-A

Group shot of the cousins.

Little Village party 013-A

My mother, age 97.

Little Village party 008-A

David and me.

The food was excellent, consisting of vegetarian as well as meat dishes.  These are some of the entrees:

Little Village party 016-A

Little Village party 017-A

Little Village party 020-A

I really appreciate living near family in Hawaii.  When I lived in New York City, I always felt depressed about being away from the family social scene.  I love Hawaii for a lot of reasons, but socializing with family tops the list.

I enjoy hosting dinner parties. Next weekend, we will have our friends, Flo and Raymond, over for lunch.  This will be followed by family parties in August, November, and December.  All chronicled here, of course.

How do you feel about family parties?

13 Responses to “Party at Little Village”

  1. Olga Says:

    I wish my family would get together more often.

  2. Kay G. Says:

    I love family parties and I loved yours! What a beautiful family you have, and your Mom at 97 looks great!
    That food looks really good too!

  3. granny annie Says:

    I am happy to have my daughter and granddaughter here this weekend. We have had different family members visiting this past week and it has been wonderful. Your gathering looks wonderful and I am amazed by your beautiful 97 year old mother. Is she as healthy as she appears to be? I miss my mama so.

  4. Suzanne Says:

    Beautiful family. Love getting together with family. Of course, we both have great families. I know people that are not so lucky.

  5. Cathy Says:

    You all look happy and contented – nothing worse than family gatherings where ‘old sores’ are opened up again.

  6. Christine Says:

    We used to have a lot of family parties when the kids were little, not so much now.

  7. L...w Says:

    We don’t get together with family much. When the children were little, we celebrated every occasion together. I found it stressful. I guess socializing is not easy for me, even with family.

    L…w

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Family gettogerthers can be fun or stressful as the filmmakers tell us over and over. Dianne

  9. Ana Says:

    Gigi, your mother is so beautiful. What an amazing get together 🙂 We are looking forward to meeting you and David.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I grew up in a big family with a large extended family. Sometimes I am thrilled to just have a small group around for a special occasion, but I do love having family nearby.

  11. DrumMajor Says:

    What a jolly time in Chinatown! Has Lisa practiced her Physical Therapy on you or David yet? DrumMajor

Leave a Reply

