Beautifying our home

David and I went to Home Depot Nursery and bought a bunch of stuff to beautify our home.

plants from home depot 001-A

Aren’t these anthuriums pretty?  We bought this lovely indigo ceramic pot to hold the plant.

plants from home depot 004-A

The anthuriums sit on our glass coffee table in the living room.

plants from home depot 002-A

Whatever these flowers are called, they look striking on our patio table. (Commenters on my blog state they are petunias.)

plants from home depot 003-A

And the white mums we bought about eleven days ago now sit on our dining table.

We have found that the simple act of moving things around creates a much more interesting environment.

We moved these two Dietrich Varez woodcut prints from one wall in the family room to walls in the hallway and the dining area.  Wow, it really perks us up!

Dietrich Varez 002-A

Dietrich Varez 005-A

Buying new plants and relocating art works can be quite exciting.  There’s no reason to be bored with your home.

15 Responses to “Beautifying our home”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I used to switch my furniture around, but nowadays I am happy with the way things are. The only changes I make these days are to move from bedroom to another every couple of months. I waken to a change of view and keep the beds aired at the same time!

  2. Olga Says:

    I agree. I like to make changes and plants and pictures are easy one to make. My husband, on the other hand, wants things exactly where they are and exactly where they have always been. Sometimes, to amuse myself, I will push large pieces an inch or two out of position and then time how long it takes to be moved back. I am easily amused.

  3. gigihawaii Says:

    hahaha. You gals are hilarious!!!!

  4. Christine Says:

    Those red and white flowers are petunias if my memory serves me correctly. Your anthuriums are lovely!

  5. Christine Says:

    my husband’s exactly like Olga’s.

  6. DJan Says:

    Very pretty, Gigi. Your home is always looking good, but now it’s had its Spring Spruce! 🙂

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Anthuriums are stunning. The red and white flowers are Petunias. They like lots of sunshine and don’t overwater them and they will last for ages. I keep mine outside all summer. i love them.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Those red and white flowers are Petunias. I bought some, too, as I like them in the large pots near the carport. I got them in cornflowerblue and light green. Do you remember the Petunia I had last year in green/pink, when a small plant grew into a giant one by the front door (posted it)?
    ╰☆╮
    Beatrice

  9. ~L. Says:

    Nice flowers. I think the anthurium flowers will last way longer than the mums. I bought one in December for my livingroom and it still has flowers. cost effective… instead of flowers every week.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      The only trouble with the anthuriums is it gets the afternoon sun, which is bad for the plant. Only indirect sunlight is permissible. So I have placed the anthuriums on my dining table, and placed the mums back on the coffee table.

  10. cloudia Says:

    Enjoy it in good health

    ALOHA from Town-Side
    Comfort Spiral
    ~ >
    >

  11. Denise Says:

    I love your pretty flowers and the artwork Gigi. Gregg and I realize that we have a lot to do to beautify our home. We are making a start by putting in new steps and a side walk in the front of the house and should be talking to a man who will be giving us an estimate today. The first step is too high since the ground has settled, and people have difficulty getting up and down. It is an important project as we think it is the most hazardous to visitors. We had a new roof put on a while back due to it developing several leaks. We have quite a long list of things that need to be done. A 30 year old house and we have been lucky up to now but it is time.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    Flowers are fun, and an easy way to add color and life to your home. I always have fresh flowers on my table and usually my coffee table, either from my garden or from the grocery store.

  13. DrumMajor Says:

    Never thought of moving artwork around. It’s a tad easier for you with tall David to help. Love all the flowers.
    (Okay, here goes: my OB/GYN Dad, with my Mom loving Hawaii so much, used to call anthuriums “little boy flowers!”)
    I wouldn’t tell Rylan yet. Cheers, DrumMajor

Leave a Reply

