Nail polish and fungus

scenic Hawaii 013-A

Hawaiian brook.

I saw my podiatrist for a pedicure yesterday.  She said that the infection was gone, but there was a bit of fungus on the right big toe.  She treated it with medicine.

I asked, “Is it all right if I paint my toenails?

She said, “If you want to paint your toenails for a special occasion, like a party, go ahead, but remove the polish after one week.  This will prevent fungus from forming under the polish, when it chips.”

She wants me to use skin lotion on my feet and legs.  I have been negligent because of sheer laziness.

I am just so glad that the infection is gone, and I can forget about taking antibiotics for a change!  Hooray!

Did you know that about nail polish and fungus?

11 Responses to “Nail polish and fungus”

  1. Christine Says:

    Oh boy, keep a close check on that fungus, first I am hearing about this connection to nail polish.

  2. R.J. Says:

    Maybe this is too much information, so…I’ve never had a professional pedicure but I do my own before we take trips. I use two coats of polish and one clear coat on top. I start with nails cut back as far as possible and filed with smooth edges. The polish lasts until I remove it two months later when the nails have grown out. I don’t have a problem with the polish chipping off. I have to remove it with polish remover, or file it off. Toenails don’t bend as much as fingernails that get a lot of stress. Polish chips when the nail bends. I kept acrylic fingernails for over 20 years when I worked. They were groomed twice a month because they would lift from the constant bending of the nails on the hands. They were thick and hard so if they began to lift, water would get under them and that is where fungus starts to grow. I never had nail fungus from all that but the professional manicurist always put a preventative medication on the nails and the skin around the fingernails every time the nails were manicured.

    If polish starts to chip, I remove it, because it no longer looks nice, not because I fear that it would start growing fungus. Unless I have a special occasion, I actually prefer short, natural nails on a daily basis. I like to wear sandals, but I like the plain nails. I’ve reached an age when I prefer the clean and healthy look.

  3. Olga Says:

    I did not ever think about nail polish and fungus. A friend of mine had a terrible time after one of those gel manicures though. I get a manicure/pedicure when I want to treat myself, but I usually say “no polish” or just have clear. If I do get the clear, I pick it all off. I love the look on other people, but I cannot tolerate it for myself. It’s a quirk.

  4. Kay G. Says:

    I use my hands too much to be bothered with polish on my fingernails but I MUST have some color when I look down at my toes!
    If it is true that fungus might be caused by the polish, then we must make sure we change our polish more often! There is always a way to justify what I want to do! (After making sure that all is healed up first!)
    P.S. My Dad is 86 and his feet looks like a teenager’s…he is a big believer in soaking his feet in a solution of BLEACH! I am not saying that everyone should do this, but I am just saying that his feet look so young! (Of course, his legs do too, not one spider vein in them, he looks much younger than his years.)

  5. DJan Says:

    I’ve only had two pedicures, and both of them I just let the polish grow out. I’m lazy that way, but there was never any fungus or anything. My toes are bare at the moment, and I like them that way! 🙂

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I did not know that but I am terrible about my feet. I put on nail polish for the first time in 8-months last week.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I stopped painting my toenails years ago. I have used a special cream my podiatrist recommended for several years. Our skin is extra dry if we take meds or are diabetic, and feet are the worst. Very important to develop a healthy foot regimen. Dianne

  8. L...w Says:

    Good to see a podiatrist for nail care instead of going to a nail salon. I didn’t know of the hazard of nail polish and fungus. I don’t like chipped nail polish so just go without. But it makes sense that as the polish separates from the nail germs can breed underneath.

  9. granny annie Says:

    A friend of mine got a terrible nail fungus from a professional manicure. I have recently read where soaking your fingers or toes in Listerine will kill nail fungus.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have toenail fungus, have had it for many years now. I have my nails cut by a podiatrist. Between the ugly nails and the bunions, I do not have pretty feet. But I have to wear supportive shoes anyway, so I just don’t worry about it. It’s just another reason why I never where skirts any more.

  11. jodha akbar teledrama in hiru Tv Says:

    jodha akbar teledrama in hiru Tv

    Nail polish and fungus | gigi-hawaii

Leave a Reply

