Loving our island cuisine and lifestyle

scenic Hawaii 017-A

Hawaiian seascape.

I have a friend, who always complains about the food in Hawaii.  No matter which restaurant we dine at, her parting words are: “The food wasn’t good here.”

In her opinion, the restaurants in New Zealand are superior to those in Hawaii.  “Restaurants in Hawaii are just terrible.  Terrible!” she says.

So, why doesn’t she relocate to New Zealand?  Good question.  I wish I knew the answer.

I just love the fact that my husband enjoys our island cuisine and lifestyle.  Born in Berkeley, California, he moved to Hawaii with his parents when he was seven years old and graduated from a local high school and from the University of Hawaii. He has lived here almost all of his life and has assimilated well into the local culture.

David likes everything that I cook.  Last night, by special request, I baked salmon with mayonnaise and panko crumbs.  This is one of his favorite dishes.  You can bet your bottom dollar that he ate every morsel.

salmon-panko-7A

Salmon, seasoned first and then smeared with mayonnaise and sprinkled with panko crumbs.  Baked uncovered for 20 minutes in a 375 degree oven.  Crispy on the outside and tender and juicy on the inside.

Tonight, after my hula class, we will eat take out food from a Chinese restaurant.  On the Saturday night before Father’s Day, we will dine at a fine dining restaurant, called Hoku’s, which is located at the Kahala Hotel.  Shall we order the rack of lamb or the onaga (fish) or some other entree?

As you can see, there are so many cuisines we can sample in Hawaii.  It is truly cosmopolitan here.

What is the food like in your area?

10 Responses to “Loving our island cuisine and lifestyle”

  1. Christine Says:

    Your meal looks fabulous! We have all kinds of food in Toronto, it’s wonderful that way. I want to try a Peruvian place I just heard about.

  2. NRIGirl Says:

    That looks yummy Gigi! Lucky David!

    Here in New Jersey we have got everything we can ever imagine. Our family favorite is Thai though my personal favorite is home grilled chicken kebabs!

  3. Kittie Howard Says:

    I don’t know why (except that maybe they love to gripe) but some people venture out into the world, then want what they had but refuse to go back.

    You’re so right — the food in Hawaii is delicious and the diversity makes the taste buds tingle.

    Your salmon looks delicious. I jotted down your ‘recipe’ — thanks for sharing!

  4. DJan Says:

    That salmon looks delicious. Fish and other seafood is the main thing I eat when I dine out, which isn’t very often, since we eat a fairly unexciting fare every day. It suits us, though, since we enjoy steamed vegetables and tofu as our usual dinner. 🙂

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    We have a multiplicity of cuisines here in the Washington metro area. Many immigrants and embassies fuel the plethera of fine dining establishments and other eateries.

    Sometimes the best food is found in ‘hole in the wall’ places like the Lost Dog Cafe or the Stray Cat Cafe. I don’t eat out much anymore because its a good way to gain weight as I learned the hard way.

    I am crazy about Asian cuisines (all kinds) but they often contain ingredients that are not good for me.

    I love panko crumbs. Making eggplant parmesan today using them with egg whites as a binder. Dianne

  6. Grannymar Says:

    I only recently heard of panko crumbs, and loved them. I have not found them locally so did a search for them and discovered I can make them myself! I do want to try your samon recipe!

  7. L...w Says:

    Everything looks so yummy on your plate. David is very fortunate that you cook dishes he likes.

  8. Henry Innewyork Chapin Says:

    I was a guest at a banquet at the William Butler Yeats Summer School in Sligo, Ireland. Everybody was buzzing wth excitement as the featured dish was something I had never heard of until then–SALMON MAYONNAISE. The salmon was huge (Ireland has many rivers with bank-to-bank salmon runs), enough to feed a whole banquet, and it was delicious. Good choice, Gigi!

  9. R.J. Says:

    The salmon looks like a very tasty dish. I will have to look for panko crumbs and try it.

  10. Denise Says:

    When we have been to Hawaii we have always enjoyed the food, and don’t understand why these people complain. Well, I think I do, there are those who would be picky anywhere, even in their own back yard. Part of the adventure of traveling is trying the cuisine of the area, it is something we always look forward to.

    Thank you for your salmon recipe. That looks delicious and I will try it next time I go up to the grocery store for the ingredients.

    Denise
    An English Girl Rambles

Leave a Reply

