Cheerios and my biracial family

035-A

My family on Christmas 2012.  That’s me in the red muumuu and my husband at the far right. Our daughters and grandkids and son in law complete the picture.

Recently, Cheerios ran a commercial showing a black father, white mother, and biracial child discussing the breakfast cereal. Although there was much vitriol, Cheerios stands by its TV ad, stating that it shows reality in the United States.

Well, hooray for Cheerios!  Gone are the days when American families were strictly white, like the “Leave It To Beaver” show.

As you may know, my husband is white and I am Asian (Korean).  Our daughters are biracial.  Our grandchildren are 3/4 Asian and 1/4 white.

Nothing wrong with that, is there?

Fortunately, David and I have never experienced any sort of discrimination anywhere in the world.  Besides the Hawaiian islands, we (as a married couple) have traveled to Los Angeles, San Francisco, New York City, Boston, Washington DC, Las Vegas, Croatia, Seoul, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Macau, and northern India.  We will travel to Miami in a few months.

Of course, Hawaii is a melting pot, where there are many inter-racial marriages. My sisters and brother also married non-Asians.

We are all one big, happy family.  And that’s the way it should be!

Cheers for Cheerios!

15 Responses to “Cheerios and my biracial family”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    The commercial is cool. (I wish it was that easy to assure heart health, by pouring Cheerios over a chest.)
    Hopefully they’ll do one with a white guy and a dark woman to help educate the world.
    You’ve been lucky within Hawaii and your travels. The amount of bigotry on the mainland is deplorable. (My white nephew’s gorgeous black wife was asked to leave a burlesque dancing class in Austin, Texas, “because it made the others in the class uncomfortable!” She was given her money back, but I think she should sue them.)
    I think Asian and other “light-skinned” interracial marriages are much more tolerated than the black/white marriages. Some of it is the deep-rooted feeling of “white women stealing black men from the black women.”
    (By the way, ignorant white folks like me, can’t tell the difference between all of the different Asian nationalities. A co-worker from Cambodia is grateful he got to the U.S. in the ’70s, but misses his homeland.)
    Your books were enlightening about your folks starting a life in Hawaii.
    I don’t think David’s whiteness is as much of a problem as his being tall. Or are you short? Oh, the genealogy is getting all mixed up! Hurray!
    Cheers for Cheerios! DrumMajor

  2. granny annie Says:

    It seems to me that there are few non-bi-racial families anymore. Ours is a giant melting pot and it is a wonderful blend like yours.

  3. Pat Flory Says:

    I read and enjoy your blog but have not commented before. I have a granddaughter who adopted two little black baby sons and she is white and so is the rest of her family. I think most of what she encounters is curiosity. We live in California and that seems to be a melting pot too. Pat from Santa Barbara

  4. Beatrice Says:

    We are all mixed, even if some don’t want to hear it…..we are all out of Africa….

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I agree with you Gigi. I worked with race, ancestry and ethinic data at the Census Bureau and can tell you Americans do not like to be pigeon-holed. My family includes people of European, Asian, Indian, and African descent. Almost everyone in America is a mix, some just don’t know it or won’t believe it.

    We don’t worry about “racial” proportions because it doesn’t matter anyway…race is a myth. Genes are funny things. They go where the go and kids can look more or less like anyone in their ancestry.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    I agree with DrumMajor above….Cheers for Cheerios. I was surprised to read that the ad had created controversy.

  7. Christine Says:

    sounds like a commercial for the times! Multicultural is a good thing, it enriches a country..

  8. Olga Says:

    I think some people might be surprised if they went through genetic testing.

  9. Joanne Says:

    We may be coming round slowly. I don’t know. Any back lash is too much back lash, and I’m afraid the bigotry is entrenched. It’s never made sense to me, and that from a 70 year old who grew up in a mixed neighborhood in the leave it to beaver days.

  10. Mage Bailey Says:

    I agree with Olga. You have a beautiful family. 🙂

  11. R.J. Says:

    It seems like the whole world is a melting pot now which is probably a good thing.

  12. Denise Says:

    You are a beautiful family and I applaud this post.

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    I did do a double take when I first noticed that commercial, then thought, Oh, OK. I had no idea there was a backlash. Some people just need something better to spent their time on, something constructive.

  14. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    It’s ridiculous to have that kind of prejudice in this day and age.

  15. seo experts Says:

    I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you make this website yourself or did you hire someone to do it for you?
    Plz reply as I’m looking to create my own blog and would like to find out where u got this from. thank you

Leave a Reply

