Which sense do you value most?

scenic Hawaii 015-A

Hawaiian seascape.

I am wishing my blog friend, Linda Starr, good luck with her eye exams.  She was recently diagnosed with glaucoma, which is a leading cause of blindness.  My mother had it for the longest time, and at age 97, is now legally blind in her right eye.  However, Mom can see the time on a clock in the distance with no trouble, thanks to cataract surgery on her left eye.

Of all the senses we humans have, I believe that eye sight is the most precious.  Whatever would I do if I could no longer read the computer screen and write my blog?  That would be so depressing, as it is one of my main ways to connect with the world.

Linda is an artist who works with clay.  I have bought two pieces from her: a bowl and a platter.  I have used them at my frequent dinner parties and have received many compliments about their lovely shape and design.  Her work is pretty unique.

I am not sure how she will handle orders as she and her husband embark on a summer trip in their RV, but if you are interested, do visit her blog listed on my Blogroll.  (Click on Linda Starr.)  She is truly talented.

I hoped to meet her for dinner in Miami in August, but it looks like she won’t be able to make it.  I suppose a trip up north is cooler than traveling down to sweltering Miami.  Yes, I understand!

Which sense do you value most, dear reader?

15 Responses to “Which sense do you value most?”

  1. Denise Says:

    I wish Linda the very best too with her eye exam and thank you for letting us know about her blog. I will be visiting her. I think I value my eyesight more if it came down to it. Lovely photo at the beginning of your post Gigi, I enjoy all your photos. Have a great weekend 🙂

    Denise
    An English Girl Rambles

  2. granny annie Says:

    I am trying to imagine which sense I could live without. It is impossible. Hopefully I will never have to face this challenge but I do have confidence that if I do my remaining senses will compensate some way. We see daily stories of people who manage to overcome amazing obstacles in their lives.

  3. R.J. Says:

    I suppose most people would feel their sight is probably most important to them. As we age, we start to have a decline in most of the senses, some more than others. People that I know who have hearing problems find it very disruptive to their lives, but not to the extent that sight loss would be. It is an intriguing question which sent me off to Dr. Google where I found some discussions about the ambiguous nature of other senses beyond the traditional five. One under discussion was balance. That one becomes important as we age, but they haven’t really included it as a sense and can’t really agree on a strict definition of the senses. Good food for thought. I sympathize with people who can’t feel pain and can get burned or injured and never realize it.

  4. Linda Starr Says:

    Dearest Gigi you bring up a good point all too often we humans (guilty I am) take for granted those senses we have until something comes up to shake us out of our complacency. sometimes I think these things come up for reasons we may not understand, but if we all blog about it and someone reads they may be helped or their eyesight may be saved by reading, so thank you for posting this for all your readers too.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Where are the photographs of Linda’s work. I love clay pieces.

    Good luck to Linda. Modern medicine can do much to help you even if you have glaucoma. Dianne

  6. L...w Says:

    I think people can manage to live beautifully without all their senses and learn to cope, but without a good, healthy, sound mind what else is there to live for. Though for an artist, the senses is heavily relied on.

    Wish Linda the best on her journey…as we age there are going to be constant challenges.

  7. DJan Says:

    I hope Linda’s glaucoma will be well managed, since she knows about it already. I also value sight, which is why I am now taking numerous vitamins and fish oil for my AMD. So far so good! 🙂

    • gigihawaii Says:

      Yes, DJan, you have your own trials and tribulations. I respect the fact that you continue to keep a positive mental attitude. Kudos to you!

  8. Christine Says:

    Gigi this is a tough question, it’s like what finger could you do without or say you hurt one of your limbs, leg or arm? Hmm. But eyesight’s definitely up there.

  9. LC Says:

    I won’t dare to pick one. However, I am living with the loss of accurate sensory input on my left side after a stroke. I especially depend on my sense of sight to keep my balance, to check that I don’t step down with my left foot turned over and that I don’t sit on my hand!.

    Talk about taking senses for granted, until a year into my recovery, I had never even heard of proprioceptors, those sensory organs in your skin that let you know where your body is in space or the ones in joints and, I think, muscles that let you know where your body parts (like my left hand) are in relation to other body parts (like my behind).

    Wishing Linda the best.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    Losing eyesight would be most debilitating, but my mother, who was almost blind and nearly deaf, also lost the sense of touch in her fingers. It’s startling how debilitating that was.

Leave a Reply

