Embarking on a new hobby

Flo's beads 002-A

These are beaded necklaces that my friend Flo made a while ago.  They were stored in a box along with loose beads, wires, and tools that she had loaned me for my use.  I think these gorgeous necklaces are much too nice to be hidden in a box indefinitely, so I shall return them to her.

Great job, Flo!  I am so impressed by your artistic talent.

I have not started bead classes yet, but I intend to request course catalogs from Bead It in Kaimuki and from Bead Gallery in Kalihi.  Flo attended the latter, whereas my hula classmate Mary attended the former.  The technique being taught will determine which school I will attend.

I am so excited to be embarking on a new hobby.  I look forward to learning new things, stimulating my mind, and making new friends.

15 Responses to “Embarking on a new hobby”

  1. Denise Says:

    That sounds like so much fun and those necklaces of Flo’s look really great.

  2. Flo Says:

    I don’t remember making these necklaces but I hope you use any and all beads that I left with you. Have fun beading!

  3. Joanne Says:

    You soon will be addicted; so many beads, so little time. Next we will find you making your own beads. Don’t laugh. I know beaders who do.

  4. DJan Says:

    I have a couple of friends who bead, and it is apparently addictive. I look forward to seeing what you create, Gigi. 🙂

  5. Christine Says:

    Those beads look fantastic! This will be a great hobby for you Gigi.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    There are several bead shops around here, but I have never checked them out. I will have to go have a look. People that are into beading do seem to get hooked on it.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Pretty beads.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    This is what I did for a job for 20 years. But first I studied all about minerals, gems, corals and other things used…
    ❀.❀.❀
    Beatrice

  9. Olga Says:

    Good for you to start a new hobby. Enjoy and wear your creations with pride.

  10. L...w Says:

    Collecting beads is so addicting. I’ve been watching craft you tubes and that is now my favorite way to relax on weekends. But nothing can beat going to class and learning from the experts. I feel there is so much that I don’t know. Have fun with your new hobby. Can’t wait to see what you make.

  11. R.J. Says:

    Enjoy your new hobby. Take some pictures of your creations. Maybe an Etsy store is in your future.

  12. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I used to like working with beads, but my hands are too stiff to do it these days. Good luck with your class. How’s David doing?

  13. palolo Says:

    You should talk to David’s boss and let him know how he is losing a great man if he doesn’t start treating David better. Making jewerly is a good hobby for gift giving.

  14. Cathy Says:

    Picking up all the ‘tricks of the trade’ at classes is a far better idea than trying to learn from books no matter how clear and concise they are.
    Also even tho’ you will develop a ‘style’ of your own Gig – having Flo’s necklaces in front of you will possibly give you some ideas.

Leave a Reply

