Views of our backyard

yard plants 010-A

That’s the giant monstera growing in the upper right corner of our backyard.

yard plants 002-A

Here’s a close-up.

back yard 002-A

On the opposite side of the backyard is this plant with pink blossoms.  Does anyone know the name of this plant?

yard plants 007-A

Crotons outside Maria’s former bedroom.

back yard 004-A

Ti leaves and Boston ferns outside our family room.

The previous owner of our house grew a papaya tree, a lemon tree, and a plumeria tree – all of which we chopped down because of disease and decay.  They have not been replaced.

She also left behind numerous orchids, which turned yellow and perished.

I wish I were a better gardener, but I lack the energy for such hard work. Maybe, when we get rich, we’ll hire a landscaper.  Lol.

How about you?  Do you like to grow things?

14 Responses to “Views of our backyard”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I have plenty growing in my garden. I think they are called weeds! 😉

    I think I am ready for a flat/apartment with a window box!

  2. Christine Says:

    you have a big yard Gigi. I love flowers and plants but wouldn’t say I like to grow things. Gardeners put a lot of time into their gardens.

  3. Cathy Says:

    We have a smallish house on a quarter acre block and I do enjoy gardening when it’s all going to plan – drought and flood can wreak havoc with our plot and we’ve had both over the years. Shame about losing your lemon tree – they are a really handy tree to have and are usually indestructible.
    I don’t think I’ve ever seen such a large Monstera tho – it’s obviously in a spot it likes 🙂

  4. Suzanne Says:

    I love the idea of having a fresh garden at my finger tips. However, I don’t have the ability to get things to grow. I do have some herbs such as Mint and Basil but they are very hardy.

  5. Olga Says:

    A garden is a tremendous amount of work. i have cycled through vegetable gardens, flower gardens and back again. Right now I am in a flower phase with only one tomato plant on the deck. I do enjoy working outside and watching things grow.

  6. Joanne Says:

    More grass would be good, but I haven’t figured out how to do it yet.

  7. Jeanie Says:

    I wish I loved to garden, but I don’t really enjoy it. Our yard is not big but it was nicely landscaped when we bought the house 11 years ago….we have just done our best to maintain it.

  8. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I might be able to identify your shrub with the red flower if I got closer. With that much space, i would plant a Myers lemon tree at least. Also a papaya. I love papayas and can’t get the small ones anymore, only those awful GMO kind that are so big I can barely handle them.

    You might start with container plants. They are easier to manage. Talk to your local nurseryman and ask him what is easiest for a new gardener to grow and begin there. Dianne

  9. L...w Says:

    I don’t garden much these days except what I can grow in a few pots. My father tends to the yard like his work area so it’s best we don’t tell him what to plant or do. We take him to the store to buy seeds and he shares with us surprisingly good lettuce, bell peppers, etc. Wish we could grow cilantro but we have not been successful growing in pots so far. I don’t care to grow flowers or decorative shrubs.

  10. DrumMajor Says:

    The next time you have the landscapers visit, you can ask them about your pink flowers. You could take a spring to the local soil and conservation office.
    About a third of my hibiscus plants haven’t popped up. Might be that the cane base is tuckered out. DrumMajor

  11. DrumMajor Says:

    Correction: I’d take a sprig of the pink flower to the soil/conservation office. DrumMajor

  12. Denise Says:

    I am not a true gardener but I love flowers. Our garden has trees and bushes but very few flowers at the moment. I need some advice as this year I intend to plant more.

  13. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    No. Dull work.

  14. Linda Reeder Says:

    As you know, yes I do … like to grow things. It’s almost a necessity of life for me.

Leave a Reply

