Plants, pets, and inclement weather

Remember when I asked if anyone could identify this plant?  Well, nobody could.

back yard 002-A

Here’s a close up of the flowers.  I hope this helps.

yard plants 004-A

My cousins have moved into a condominium and have hired someone to water their plants when they travel.  I wish I could do the same, but am leery of thieves.  Maria can’t do this chore, because she has to pick up her son from preschool after work.  And Lisa will be on the mainland, attending graduate school.

Ah, well, I guess we will simply have to discard dead plants and buy new ones when we return from our trip.  It’s a good thing we don’t have pets to feed, because that would be another hassle we don’t need.

What I really dread is inclement weather.  Will our flights to and from the East coast be delayed or canceled due to a storm or hurricane?  I should hope not, but you never know.

We have been lucky so far.  Have you?

15 Responses to “Plants, pets, and inclement weather”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Mystery pink flower. Seems to bloom in series.

    I’ve been lucky traveling so far; possible delays is why I make sure I have 1 1/2 hours between flights. (Ask the pilot to fly around Oklahoma to avoid storms.)

    Isn’t there a neighborhood teen or teen relative to water your plants for a small fee, without having to go inside?

    Traveling and your blue carpet would be a reason to avoid pets.

    Be sure and walk around during long flights, or even stand in place, marching a bit.

    Cheers, DrumMajor

  2. granny annie Says:

    Finally our weather has cleared up from so many tornadoes. Now we are dealing with extreme heat. Safe travel to you.

  3. Cathy Says:

    With regard identifying the plant – if you really want to know Gigi, take a couple of leaves and some of the flowers to a plant nursery/garden centre and ask them to do it for you. That’s their trade so they should be able to help.
    Don’t take this the wrong way Gigi but those of us with pets usually don’t feel it is a hassle to find care for them whilst we are away – our cats have always been boarded – much safer than leaving them at home and having someone feed and water them and wondering if they actually do do the job we have asked ( or even paid ) them to do.
    I’ll echo DM’s suggestion to move about when the seat belt sign is off, forget the food and booze, stay hydrated by drinking lots of water! And don’t get cranky with security – they are only doing their job lol
    Take care
    Cathy

  4. Grannymar Says:

    If you cannot get up and walk the aisle during a flight, do foot exercises instead. I keep my legs moving all through a flight. It is the lack of exercise that causes the ankles to swell!

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    We have automatic watering systems for our outdoor plants, and those garden areas that are not covered are deep watered before we leave.
    The problem for us is our cat. We didn’t plan to have a pet whle we were still in our traveling years, but we had to adopt our son’s cat. She would never make it in a boarding kennel. She’s too neurotic. We used to have neighbor kids who could be trusted to help out, but they have all grown up. Now that we have family near by, we ask them to help, when they are home. Not sure what we’ll do for a few days in August when we are all away.
    As to flights, we have been lucky so far too, except once when I traveled for school business. Flights were cancelled due to a blizzard in Denver, in April! Oh, and there were those Christmas flights that were cancelled due to snow in Denver one year and snow in Seattle another. Yep, that weather can mess things up.

    • DrumMajor Says:

      To Linda Reeder:
      Check out a local “Critter Sitters” pet-sitting type company. I used one for years with our Golden when we were away. They were bonded, came to visit to pick up the key and get instructions. They would change lights and bring in the mail, and play with our dog or go for a 30-minute walk, feed and give meds. Even though we had a pet door to the outside, the dog loved her sitter visiting. A “report card” was on the table about the dog’s behavior, and the sitter came after we returned to pick up payment and return the key. It used to be about $15 a day for one visit per day, or $25 a day for two visits. We loved not having to board her and risk kennel cough and bladder problems.
      DrumMajor

  6. Christine Says:

    A good way to identify plants is from the shape of the leaves. The plants in Hawaii are tropical, very different from in Canada.

  7. DJan Says:

    The few times I travel by air these days have been pretty hassle free in terms of delays, but air travel is just not much fun these days. I feel cramped into a small space for way too long! I remember when it was fun and exciting! Times have sure changed.

  8. Olga Says:

    I can’t help you with your plant, but I did take FL plants to a local nursery (as suggested above) and they identified them. I put the samples in platic bags, which the nursery owner greatly appreciated.

  9. Jeanie Says:

    I agree with Djan above that there is not much fun in traveling by air these days. I missed a connection on my flight to Hawaii earlier this month due to my flight leaving Denver two hours late. I think you just have to prepare for the worst and hope for the best. Definitely have a toothbrush and change of clothes in your carry-on, at least I wish that is what I had done. 🙂

  10. L...w Says:

    Never had a problem with either No pets, plants or bad weather where we travel lol

  11. Joanne Says:

    GiGi, check out Plant Nanny. A terra cotta pipe with a pointy end. Stick in the dirt, fill with water and go. I’m sure you can find it with Google.

  12. mageb Says:

    Yes, there are several long term plant water systems that are low cost and will keep your plants alive.

  13. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    You are right, traveling is difficult with plants and animals. Fortunately, when I travel to CA these days, David is here to take care of everything. I wish he would travel with me, but he likes to stay home. Someday, I will probably feel the same way.

    As for your trip here in August, you never know what the weather will be like, but after two months of drought in July and August we welcome the remnants of hurricanes and their rain.

    I don’t recognize the plant outside with red flower. Flower shape is a little like Laurel, but your local nursery probably has examples. Dianne

  14. Suzanne Says:

    I experienced a delay in 2012 but that was due to a mechanical issue with the plane. Knock on wood, the weather holds out for us.

Leave a Reply

