A bad case of nerves

scenic hawaii 002-A

Hawaiian seascape.

By now, you must have heard of Miss Utah’s flubbed answer to the interview portion of the Miss USA pageant.  Hers was an answer that made absolutely no sense, and it has been repeated over the media extensively.

Poor Miss Utah.  How embarrassed she must feel.

This episode brought to mind the two spelling  bees my elder daughter, Maria, flunked as a young student.

At the first spelling bee, she could not pass the first round, because she spelled POUND as POND.  She walked off stage, so humiliated that her eyes were brimming with tears.

At the second spelling bee, she again flunked the first round by spelling THROW as THOW.  Duh.

This child was an honor student and a member of the National Honor Society.  Her spelling mistakes were due to a bad case of nerves.

The point of this story is not to poke fun at Maria, but to state that boo boos like these don’t mean you are doomed to a lifetime of failure.  Maria is now a board-certified, tenured high school math teacher and the chairman of the math department in Honolulu.

So, take heart, Miss Utah.  Your botched answer isn’t the end of the world.  I’ll bet you will go on to bigger and better things and be the success you have always wanted to be.  Good luck and best wishes!

12 Responses to “A bad case of nerves”

  1. Christine Says:

    I feel the same as you do for Miss Utah, everyone can get a case of the nerves. And good for Maria!

  2. DJan Says:

    I haven’t heard the Miss Utah flub, I guess I’ll go looking for it on the internet. Nerves are the reason I don’t stand up in front of people very often to give talks. 🙂

  3. Olga Says:

    I missed that. My daughter says I live under a rock.

  4. Grannymar Says:

    I didn’t see it, but heard about it online. Not everyone with a microphone thrust in their face is a natural public speaker. George Dubya, was a perfect example!

  5. Joanne Says:

    I thought she soldiered on to the end magnificently.
    .

  6. Suzanne Says:

    If she wanted more publicity though, this worked out very well for her. She just needs to leapfrog it into something more.

  7. Jeanie Says:

    I thought it was interesting that they are asking those kinds of questions in a beauty pageant. I’m sure this publicity will only help her in the long run.

  8. Flo Says:

    The main thing in life is to persevere. When mishaps, flubs occur, it is important to pick up the pieces and move forward. You’re right Gigi, it isn’t the end of the world

    We feel your pain Miss Utah!

  9. jenjilks Says:

    These are wise and comforting words from a proud momma. Well done!

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good for you. I flubbed a spelling bee when i misspelled one of those words with an “I before E except after C or when sounding like A as in neighbor and weigh.” Can’t remember what it was now and with spell check it might not matter. Dianne

  11. L...w Says:

    I flub every single time I speak…so I can relate. Seems the worse is when you have to say something for which you don’t have much to say. Why chitchat is so gut wrenching for me.

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    I head about it but didn’t pay much attention. It was the Miss Universe Pageant, USA level, a Donald Trump enterprise. Ugh. It seems to make the news every year for some lame reason.
    Your Maria is a beautiful young woman, but her achievements come from her brain, not her looks.

Leave a Reply

