Three deaths at the gym

scenic hawaii 004-A

Hawaiian seascape.

David told me there have been two recent deaths in the locker room at the gym, both apparently due to cardiac arrest.  One victim was an African-American man and the other was a Filipino man.  They had taken a shower after exercising on the treadmill, and when they stepped out of the shower stall, they suddenly collapsed and died.

My cousin died the same way at a different gym.  After an intense work out and shower, he immediately died of a massive heart attack.  He was only 44 years old.

It just goes to show that vigorous exercise can sometimes have adverse consequences.

That’s why I prefer to dance the hula.  Nobody I know has ever died after hula class.

I am glad I didn’t sign up for Zumba.  David told me not to, as it would be too strenuous for me.  I always listen to my husband, because he knows me better than my own doctors!

What kind of exercise do you enjoy?  Do you know anyone who died after exercising?

14 Responses to “Three deaths at the gym”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Starting exercise gradually is best. I’ve had patients who ended up in the hospital after eating a big meal, and clots from flying too long with too little walking during the flight.
    Use the portable AED! You don’t have to know how to use it, just get it and open it up; it will tell you everything to do!
    I think you said the gym has one. Sounds like they need to move it to the men’s shower! (Gotta dry their chest first to use it!)
    Easy does it, DrumMajor

  2. Olga Says:

    Not very good PR for the gym. This was scary for me as I just learned that my husband has to have heart surgery.

  3. laurie Says:

    wow thats frightening, my husband is just recovering from the second heart attack in 8 months and he was in the best shape for years, one never knows whats going on inside,

  4. Christine Says:

    I did hear of a recent heart attack outside the gym locker at our gym. I’m just warning my husband after your post.

    I enjoy aerobics (step) class. But I just do what is comfortable for me, as I have to watch my knees.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I think we have to be aware of our own limits. I do use some of the machines at the gym, but I like walking (with just a little running) the best.

  6. DJan Says:

    My son died while jogging. He was only 40. It was ten years ago now, but I know that my exercising is the best way I know to avoid the same fate.

  7. Grannymar Says:

    Walking was and is the only form of exercise I am interested in for outside the home. Indoors I move about to music with a good beat.

  8. Denise Says:

    That is very sad. Gregg had a colleague who died of a heart attack after running. He was thought as fit as a fiddle as he seemed to do all the right things, but I think there was an hereditary issue. I walk. Yesterday we walked all over the Mall in DC. I like to walk in different places because there is always so much to see you don’t realize you are getting exercise.

    Denise
    An English Girl Rambles

  9. Keith Wynn Says:

    I always worry about this when I do cardio at the gym. My heart rate gets so fast and it’s always in the back of my mind. These gives me pause for sure.

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I hear about a death from time to time when a runner collapses. I think walking is the best exercise you can take. Running will destroy your joints. Even though I never did much running I can feel the pain. I too avoided Zumba. Now that is painful if you have arthritis.
    Dianne

  11. palolo Says:

    Are the two men okay?

  12. suzanne Says:

    That is scary! A man collapsed and died a few years ago on the road near our house. He was jogging.

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    I don’t personally know of any such case. Everyone should exercise in a manner appropriate to their situation, but everyone should exercise.
    My chief for of exercise is brisk walking. I get my heart rate up, but not dangerously so.

Leave a Reply

