Finding our niche in life

scenic hawaii 005-A

Hawaiian seascape.

David has told me not to write about stuff that happens at his office, so I shall obey his wish.  My lips are sealed.

Okay.  So what should I write about today?  That’s a funny question, as it seems that I am never at a loss for words.  I just love to write, and blogging is the perfect medium for me.  I have also written columns for the local newspapers, commentaries for the radio, and three books.  Do you enjoy writing, too?

I just wish I were better at math.  It takes me forever to calculate numbers in my brain, whereas it takes David only a few seconds.  Maria also is a math whiz.  How do they do it?  I really envy them.  They have my utmost respect and admiration.  Are you good with numbers, too?

Another thing I am bad at is speaking.  I hate to use my voice all day, which is why I detested teaching English as a Second Language on the college level.  Even being a teacher’s aide at a preschool was no fun.  Do you like to talk all day?

I guess we all have to find our own niche in life.  Mine is writing.  What’s yours?

10 Responses to “Finding our niche in life”

  1. Grannymar Says:

    I’m with David on this one. What happens in the office is between him and his employer. You blogging about it might make the situation worse. You would not want that, I am sure.

  2. Christine Says:

    yes, good idea not to blog about David’s office stuff as Grannymar says. I have a Math degree, but from a long time ago!

  3. Olga Says:

    I am not a mathematician in any sense. I think I would always prefer to communicate in writing vs. speaking, although I am comfortable speaking in public–if it something I have written first. Off the top of my head speaking, I would sound a lot like poor Ms Utah.

  4. DJan Says:

    When I think how different my life would have been if I had never learned to read, I think anything to do with the written word is my own niche! I love to read, white, and spell. 🙂

  5. Beatrice Says:

    No numbers for me; I am a letter person – and into the arts… ♪♫ ❤
    Beatrice

  6. L...w Says:

    I love art and math, in college taking both courses…art studio and calculus II (more than the required for my major). I’m still torn today. If I had more talent I would have majored in fine arts or architecture. I think I like designing and building things. I’m awful with words and speech.

  7. suzanne Says:

    I am still working on mine. I can’t speak for long periods either. I find I need to cough a lot and drink water if I talk a lot.

  8. palolo Says:

    I wish I was smart in math. Math people know how to make and keep their money.

  9. DrumMajor Says:

    Blogging: it does a body good.
    Priceless: to be able to reply on blogs.
    My Dad taught me about figuring out dining tips: Determine the 10% of the bill, then cut that amount in half and add to the 10%, if you want to give a 15% tip. If the server has done well, I can compute the 20 or 25% tip.
    Yep, my math teacher daughter-in-law can do it without thinking.
    Cheers, DrumMajor

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I don’t do much math these days, but was a fairly competent statistician for a while. I suppose coping with technology has become my new skill. Dianne

Leave a Reply

