Do you have scars?

scenic hawaii 006-A

Hawaiian seascape.

Do you have scars?  I do.

There is a scar on my left thumb and one on my left forefinger, obtained when I was slicing some food.

There is one on my right cheek, where a dermatologist cut out a mole.  This was totally unnecessary, as the “beauty spot” was not cancerous and the surgery left an ugly scar, though a small one.  But, I had insisted that it be removed due to some irrational fear.

A general surgeon also removed a mole from my neck and another one from my back, again at my request. Two more scars.

All three moles were small and benign.  But, my fears were addressed and, now, I can relax and not worry about them.

Wait!  There are more moles on my back and under my breasts that need to be examined.  I shall see a dermatologist soon for a full body scan.  Better safe than sorry.

Do you have scars, too?  Where are they?  Were they preventable?

10 Responses to “Do you have scars?”

  1. DrumMajor Says:

    Wow Gigi — I don’t really count mole removals as scars, but maybe I can’t see them that well. We go to the dermatologist once a year to discuss any spots that changed, and have some frozen off, which is much better than laser. One really thickened quickly and the dermatologist said it was benign, but still froze it.
    C-section scar, can’t see it much, not preventable, kid had to come out! (horizontal, pretty thin.)
    3 little pokie scars from gallbladder out, prefer the scars over the bad gallbladder.
    Both ear drums stabbed at total of 15 times, can’t see the scars, most from ear infections as a kid, in the late ’50s, before draining tubes were in vogue; I have two tubes now at 59, not just for kids.
    Right knee: was running away from lighting fireworks up the street, which I wasn’t supposed to do, around 5th grade, and tripped, and really scraped the knee. That adventure has kept me from wanting to buy and/or light fireworks.
    I’m surviving pretty well. DrumMajor

  2. Christine Says:

    I do have a C-section scar from when I had my daughter. And one on my arm from an oven burn…and likely lots of others! It’s normal as we age to get moles and dark spots I’m thinking.

  3. Grannymar Says:

    Four toes, hip replacement and an appendectomy, all very neat, my surgeons were good needleworkers! 😉

  4. Olga Says:

    I have lots of little scars. You cannot be as clumsy as I tend to be and not. My biggest one is on my ankle. It is from a school faculty vs. the town fire department basketball game I participated in about twenty-five years ago. It was a major rough game. I guess all the fire fighters had a score to settle with their old high school teachers. I was lucky not to have broken bones I spent so much time on the floor. BTW, the teachers won…and the winning lead was scored while it was all female faculty playing on the floor against all male fire fighters. The glory was worth the pain.

  5. DJan Says:

    Do I have scars? More than I can count. Knee surgery in 1994 gave me lots of them, broken ankle, fractured pelvis, bikini scar on my tummy when I needed removal of an ovary. Oh, yes, lots! I’ll stop there before I get depressed. 🙂

  6. vagabonde Says:

    I have a scar on my left elbow but I don’t remember it. I had an infection in it when I was 2 or 3 years old and they had to cut the flesh to the bone. The other, which you can’t see unless you look very carefully, is under my eyebrow. It happened on New Year’s Eve in London many years ago. I even wrote a post on it – here is the link: http://avagabonde.blogspot.com/2011/12/recollection-new-year-party-to-remember.html.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Too many to name. The latest from skin cancer is an ugly long scar across my arm. I hope it becomes less noticible over time. Moles generally are not cancerous. Good thing as I have oodles and oodles. of them. Dianne

  8. L...w Says:

    I don’t notice any but I’m sure they are there lol…just thank my lucky stars that I don’t have a really noticeable one (knock knock) yet.

    L…w

  9. Arti Says:

    I have a small scar near my ankle. It was when I had a small accident when I was a small kid on my bicycle.
    Love that picture, what a beautiful place.
    Have a lovely day Gigi 🙂

  10. Cathy Says:

    Like Arti I have the reminder of a cycling accident on the side of my leg – there’s also the fading reminder of an appendicectomy op. many years ago. Oh and if you look hard enough you might see a small mark in one of my eye brows from when I fell out of my pram – Mum said it was all my Dad’s fault because he was bouncing it up and down too hard lol

Leave a Reply

