No career in music for us

Mitchell and Aya Chang 003-A

This is the beautiful floral display that caught my eye at Aunt Marilyn’s home on Sunday.  I also loved her butterfly painting.

Back in the 1970s, I used to date a concert cellist, who was born and raised in Croatia.  I last saw him there in 1990, still performing, still teaching, and still editing musical scores for a living.  And, guess what?  I googled him recently and he is still wrapped up in his musical life.

It’s pretty amazing, isn’t it?  How can anyone be so single minded?

David majored in music education, but after graduating from the University of Hawaii in 1972, he couldn’t find a permanent teaching position at any of the schools here on Oahu.  So, he went back to UH and graduated with an MBA in accounting.  He also took and passed the CPA exam on his first attempt.

I, too, studied music, first at Columbia University, then at the University of Hawaii.  I realized that I was not meant for a career in music, because I simply was not talented enough.  In 1992, I sold my two violins for double the price I paid for them. I also sold my piano.  I have no regrets, as some students are having a great time with these instruments.

David still has his two clarinets. Though he no longer performs, he is hesitant to sell them.  I feel he should.  After all, musical instruments are meant to be played.

Have you ever played a musical instrument, or used that most beautiful instrument of all – your voice? What kind of music appeals to you?

13 Responses to “No career in music for us”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    I have no musical talent what so ever. I can’t sing, nor dance, nor play an instrument. I tried to learn the drums at one point in my life but I can’t stay on beat.

  2. Jeanie Says:

    I don’t have musical talent….I wish I did. We have a beautiful baby grand piano that I keep saying I am going to learn to play, but it hasn’t happened yet.

  3. DrumMajor Says:

    My Selmer Mark 6 alto saxophone was great, but I decided not to major in Music Therapy. I sold the sax to pay some bills. Years later I learned it was valuable model then, and worth lots more later. Wish I hadn’t sold it. Never expected my son to play sax in his high school’s jazz band! I couldn’t buy him a Selmer, but he played some of the school’s Selmers and went to Ellington Jazz Fest in NYC!
    Have David keep his clarinets until you see if the grandkids might need one. That would be cool. Besides, David did major in music, so he has to keep one.
    You don’t want to hear my “singing voice.” Even when I sang lullabies to my young toddler, he reached up, covered my mouth with his hand, and said, “Stop.”
    Since my high school marching band was the best in Oklahoma for more than 2 years, I just saw a regional Drum Corp International show at the movie theater last night! Marching bands on steroids with extreme accuracy!
    Hence, DrumMajor

  4. L...w Says:

    I graduated with a Food and Nutrition degree and wondered why the College of Business kept sending invites for a Masters in Businesss Administration. I just tore it up thinking how strange. I didn’t know what to do with my nutrition degree since I found I didn’t like working with food lol I’m one of those who liked a bit of everything but lacked the brains and talent to dedicate myself to one area of interest.

  5. Christine Says:

    I think you have good business sense, and it’s difficult for some to know and accept that they are not talented enough, you are able to do that objectively.

    I played the piano a little bit in childhood, would’ve probably kept it up, but my teacher moved out of the neighbourhood.

  6. Joanne Says:

    Music was not my interest, literature was. I wanted more than anything to teach young minds about reading and literature. I began teaching college after I got my MA in American literature, and was ready to start a PhD program. Then I was divorced and had two children to support, their dad being classic deadbeat dad. I looked in the classified to see who earned the most money that I could learn to do; picked accounting, got a degree, got a job and never looked back. Except, I’m darn good at editing kids papers.

  7. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Music is not me. I tried the French Horn in high school (to please my Mom) but was not gifted. I liked John Phillip Sousa’s marches so she thought I would be good at a horn i suppose. Recently, i read about a 97 year old woman who teaches an exercise class here in DC. Guess what she uses for back ground music. Sousa of course.

    These days if i listen to music at all its opera. I also love Andre Lloyd Webber’s works. Have seen several of them perfomed live. Dianne

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I took piano lessons as a kid, but was terrible at it. My instrument has always been my voice. I still like to sing, but my instrument is getting a little rusty from disuse.

  9. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I think it’s a shame that you don’t play any more. There’s nothing like making your own music. I wish I could do it.

  10. Denise Says:

    I have a friend whose son makes his living performing with an orchestra. My daughter-in-law is a music teacher and she loves it. My father played the piano and there was always music in our house growing up as he was also a wonderful singer and had us join along. Neither Gregg nor I play a musical instrument.

  11. Grannymar Says:

    Nice floral display.

Leave a Reply

