Life without dementia at age 95

scenic Hawaii 001-A

Hawaii.

My neighbor, George, is really someone to admire.  He has lived here for decades, and is now 95 years old.  He still drives his car and is able to carry on a conversation with no signs of dementia.  How fantastic is that?

We have invited him to our home for dinner a number of times.  His first wife, Elaine, died at the age of 80, and his second wife, Clare, died at the age of 92.  Both wives were very pleasant to have as dinner guests in our home.

George continues to live alone, and David has seen him watering his lawn.  However, his son does come by to mow the grass and trim the plants, too.  What a wonderful son.

As you know, my mother is 97, but unlike George, she has dementia.  Most of the time, she seems to be in a daze.

To me, having a good memory is so important.  I personally would not like to live that long with memory loss.

Kudos to George for being so fortunate.  May he continue to live in peace, comfort, and good health.

15 Responses to “Life without dementia at age 95”

  1. Kay G. Says:

    My Dad is 86 and keeps up with everything new that is happening.
    He remembers names and places better than i can. I hope I take after him!
    Good for George. I have read that part of aging well is learning how to cope with loss.

  2. DrumMajor Says:

    That’s dynamite.
    (I’m available, if George would like another wife!)
    What was his previous occupation, now that he “lives life” full-time?
    DrumMajor

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Fortunately none of us gets to choose whether or not we will have dementia. All we can do is live one day at a time in the present moment…today. Dianne

  4. DJan Says:

    I agree with Dianne. We don’t get to choose whether or not we have dementia. No one in my family has ever lived long enough to find out, since they die young from heart disease. It’s one reason I try to keep my weight under control and watch my diet.

  5. Suzanne Says:

    That is excellent for George. One of neighbors attended my wedding reception when he was about 95-years old with his 60 something second wife. Living the life. He did not see 100 but he was close and he kept his wits about him until the end.

  6. Jeanie Says:

    George is, indeed, very fortunate. I think dementia is the biggest fear of people our age.

  7. Olga Says:

    My mother had dementia. When she was 80, she said she did not know why she was still alive when her brain was programed to work until the age of 75. She lived to 93. I love to hear about those who are active and mentally sharp.

  8. L...w Says:

    Sometime I scare myself when I can’t remember. It feels like a big black hole. Dementia must be scary.

  9. Christine Says:

    he reminds me of George Burns.

  10. Denise Says:

    As you say, kudos to George, that’s brilliant!
    Denise
    An English Girl Rambles

  11. Joanne Says:

    Good for George. Tell him your blogging friends want to grow up to be just like him. Including the lawn mowing.

  12. mageb Says:

    What a wonderful old age he is having. Just reading about him inspires me.

  13. Grannymar Says:

    i have no desire to live for another thirty years, a quick heart attack will do me fine. thanks. Maybe I spent too much of my young life washing, toileting, dressing and feeding old frail bodies. I would not wish that on Elly or anyone else.

Leave a Reply

