“Aging in place”

scenic Hawaii 002-A

Hawaii.

A couple of friends of mine entered a retirement facility, because they did not want to be a burden on their children.  He has congestive heart failure and has had trouble with his heart for years.  It’s nice they could afford to pay for their unit and monthly maintenance fees.

Would you do the same?  They sold their condominium to join a swanky retirement home and eventually assisted living.  Hmmm.  I suppose their intentions were laudable, but still, I would prefer to stay in my own house.  By doing so, I would be “aging in place,” something many baby boomers my age are choosing to do.

Bring the medical care team home to you, rather than go out to seek medical care.  How does that grab you?

Do you plan to “age in place,” too?

12 Responses to ““Aging in place””

  1. Olga Says:

    I have no intention whatsoever of staying in our Vermont home for too much longer. It is far too much work and I am already dreading having to do it myself for the weeks Mike will be recuperating from his upcoming surgery. I am not thinking about an independent living to assisted care place, though–just something smaller, single floor plan, with yard maintenance.

  2. Christine Says:

    It’s a tough stage of life Gigi, I suppose I would want to ‘age in place’ but what happens when you can’t do it alone? It’s nice to be able to afford care like your friends.

  3. DJan Says:

    It’s a tough question. I think I will move to a retirement home when the time comes. It won’t be swanky, though. There are some very nice ones in Bellingham.

  4. Joanne Says:

    I could cheerfully live in a studio apartment and let someone else mow the lawn.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I think we will just have to decide what to do depending on the circumstances. We certainly want to stay in our home as long as possible, but not to the point that it becomes a worry or a burden to my children.

  6. Keith Wynn Says:

    I am with you – I think I would want to age in place at my home as well 🙂

  7. Jenn Jilks Says:

    I have many clients who stay in their homes long after they are able to manage it. I think this is a very mature decision. Too many of my clients end up unable to cope, and too ill to make good decisions about their care.

  8. L...w Says:

    No way could I afford to live in a swanky retirement home….nor would I want to. I haven’t thought that far into the future, hopefully not unexpectedly in the near future.

  9. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    I’m planning to “age in place” if all goes well. But life can have other plans. I think about it a lot. My father had seven very good years at a retirement home in Rochester, New York, which was where he lived. Since he never got sick and in need of higher level services, he basically was paying an affordable rent, around $2,000 a month, for a very nice set-up. He said he had more friends there than he had ever had before. MY mother talked big about never going into a place like that (you have to be able to walk in), but she became quite a burden for others for a brief time near the end.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    It’s nice to be able to take care of yourself, whether that is in your own home, or paying for care in a graduated care facility.
    We will all have choices to make sooner of later.

  11. Denise Says:

    At this point in time I would choose to live here but who knows what’s down the road. I have friends who are living in a retirement community and enjoy it very much, I have another friend who lived in one and moved out a couple of years later. I keep meaning to say how much I enjoy your photos at the beginning of each post.

  12. Grannymar Says:

    Your friends are forward thinking, so many hang on to large homes forgetting that as they become more frail and less able, the house & gardens becomes a noose around their necks. As you get older you live in less space and the other rooms become like a museum.

    I know of a couple both aged 97 who have chosen to stay home and the care comes in to them, about four times a day, The meals are delivered once a week, individually packaged and ready for the microwave. The food would be a very long way for that at the fancy restaurants you write about.

    The home care team get them out of bed, toileted, washed and dressed (bathing in once a week!) and the reverse happens in the evening. The two other visits during the day are to toilet them, They have no other visitors – years ago they didn’t encourage visitors and now they are paying the price.

    I cared 24/7 for six years when my husband had cancer. Lifting him was difficult, and he was no heavy weight. When a body becomes helpless it is a dead weight to lift, at one stage I injured my shoulder lifting him and this made the task of caring more difficult. Could you lift David if he fell….?

    I never regret one moment of the time I spent caring for my husband, or any of the other friends and family members I washed, dressed, fed or toileted down the years. It certainly made me think and prepare mentally for the future. Maybe my heart condition will be kind, and the end swift.

Leave a Reply

