Setting the record straight

2 cars 002-A

Our two cars:  I drive the gold one on the left, and David drives the grey one on the right.

I realize that this is silly, but it really irks me when people assume I am dependent on my husband to drive me everywhere.

This is not true.

I drive my own car to restaurants for lunch with friends, to hula classes and club meetings, to doctors’ and dentist’s offices, to the hair salon, to the shopping center, etc.

What the heck makes you think I force David to drive me to these destinations? He has his own life to lead.

When he does drive me, we are usually headed to functions such as parties, opera, movies, etc.  No sense in driving separately to these events.

Good grief!  Nuff said.

P.S.  I was so sick after a greasy, oily lunch yesterday that we have postponed seeing “The Lone Ranger” until Saturday or Sunday.  Ugh!  No more deep fried eggrolls and onion rings!

6 Responses to “Setting the record straight”

  1. Denise Says:

    Same here, we have our own cars and I like to be independent. If I need to go somewhere say to meet up with friends, or to get my hair done, or anything like that, then I drive myself. When we go anywhere together then Gregg will drive. But I enjoy driving, always have.
    Denise
    An English Girl Rambles

  2. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I can’t eat greasy fried food anymore, nor most meats. I have a problem with the sphincter muscle at the bottom of my stomach which causes me distress. Bile acid backs up into my stomach which does not help the GERD situation at all.

    Do you like the Thai summer rolls. uncooked rice paper on the outside. I love them, although raw veggies are also an issue for me. Dianne

    PS who cares if you drive or not? David does most of the driving these days, although he says after I can see again he would like it if I drive. We both have issues with hip and knee joints on right legs which make long drives impossible. Have a good day. Lone Ranger panned here for placing all too serious scenes (slavery, genocide) next to humorous scenes. Ah well, Johnny Depp

  3. Olga Says:

    My mother did not drive and that was not unusual for that time, but not anymore. We still have two vehicles, but we usually use our Ford because the van uses so much gas. It’s there if needed,but we schedule around each other–not that hard because Mike likes to do his running around in the morning and I prefer the afternoon.

  4. DJan Says:

    We both have our own cars still, even though we don’t need two. I like to be able to go wherever I want and not worry about it. Sorry to hear you didn’t see the movie. I may not go after hearing all the bad reviews.

  5. Christine Says:

    you know I don’t drive on the highway, I wish I did. But fortunately I can drive around town and run my errands!

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    We have two cars, but seldom use the second car, a mini-van, because we seldom go different places at the same time. But it’s nice to be able to when needed.

Leave a Reply

