Would that deter you?

scenic Hawaii 013-A

Hawaii.

A friend of mine called to tell me that she and her husband are going to move into a retirement facility in town.  They are taking advantage of a “sale” that reduced the purchase price of a one bedroom unit.  She thinks the reduced price is due to the fact that the building is located next to a cemetery and many people are afraid to live next to one.

Would that deter you?  My friend said that cemeteries don’t bother her.

Other things are on my mind right now.  Do you read and write on a daily basis?  Studies have shown that people who do are able to stave off dementia better than those who don’t.  I guess I don’t have to worry, then, because I read and write daily.

Another item in the newspaper said that people who drink 3 pints of beer or 3 glasses of wine per week tend to lose 20% of their mental prowess.  Apparently, alcohol kills brain cells, which are never replaced.

Oh, boy, am I full of joy today!  Better luck tomorrow!

10 Responses to “Would that deter you?”

  1. Cathy Says:

    You know what they do say will help with your mental ability in later years and that is being with other people – I read a study that suggested those who live with others around them have more mental stimulation than those who live alone – as my aunt has been the only person I have known with Alzeimers I don’t have anything to compare her with (cept to say she was widowed in 1979 and died in 2011 after having lived alone all that time)
    Where the booze is concerned, I think that might be ‘per day’ Gigi – they’d die happy – if they could remember doing it lol
    Cathy
    ps our trip to see the Monet exhibition has been postponed till another time – but I will certainly talk about it afterwards – whenever that may be.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I am pretty sure that the study mentioned “per week” not “per day.”

      My mother has lived with family members all her life. She has dementia.

  2. Olga Says:

    I wonder if the reading/writing and beer/wine drinking cancel each other out? Well, now I have to cut back to two glasses of wine per week, just to be safe.

  3. Joanne Says:

    Can’t think of quieter neighbors.

  4. Christine Says:

    It might deter me, living so close to a cemetery, yes I think it would.
    It would be difficult not to read and write daily. Well for me anyway.

  5. DJan Says:

    I drink a glass of wine every evening, so I’m in trouble! I wouldn’t have any problem living next to a cemetery, though. I’ll be a resident there one day. 🙂

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I live next to the biggest cemetery in the US (I think), Arlington National Cemetery. We hear the guns fired for every burial. Death is our neighbor for sure.

    You must visit your friend and let us know how things are going for her. I am most curious about these places. Dianne

  7. Denise Says:

    We almost bought a house once and when I looked over the fence I saw several old graves dating back to the 1800s. I was a young bride back then. The thought horrified me, not so much now I suppose. The decision was taken out of our hands as Gregg was sent to the west coast. The only thing would be if we were going to resell after a few years. I truly think this would be a deterrent to potential buyers, and so probably would not want to live next to a cemetery.

    I thought having a glass of red wine each day was good for your health. This is the first time I have seen a connection to losing brain power. I have recently read that fish oil supplements have a connection to a certain type of cancer in men, can’t remember what type it was. We were thinking of starting a cod liver oil regime but have to investigate a little further before we do I think. I do read and write every day so hopefully that will be beneficial. When I walk from one room into another and try to remember what I was in there to get, I wonder!

  8. Ana Says:

    There is a side of me that would not be bothered by living near a cemetery. Unfortunately, that side is trampled over by the other side that would be scared shitless of it!

  9. Beatrice Says:

    Life and death belomg together, so living next to a cemetery won’t bother me…anyway, I live close to one…
    Here the culture of cemetaries change anyway: there are woods used now very often or the sea…
    my husband’s ashes are in the Norwegian Wilderness!
    Beatrice ♘

Leave a Reply

