Turning to food for solace

scenic Hawaii 016-A

Hawaii.

I am sure that we all have different ways of coping with stress.  One person I know bites her nails, and another person smokes.

David and I tend to find solace in food.  When we are stressed out, we turn our attention to sweets, in particular.

Our internist went over our lab results recently.  Though we both had high scores for Triglycerides, Dr. L was more concerned about our Hemoglobin A1C scores.  David’s score was 5.8 and mine was 5.7.  Normal is 5.6 or less.

Dr. L told me I am pre-diabetic.  He told David he is borderline.

His advice:  “Avoid sugar as much as possible.  Once a week you can have dessert, but not more than that.”

Someone I know has a Hemoglobin A1C score of 10.6.  Her doctor told her she needs to start injecting insulin.  Because she hates needles, she is desperately following the famous Dr. Shintani’s Diet.  (Google for more information.)  I hope she successfully beats diabetes.

Isn’t it sad that food we find so delicious can lead to illness?

17 Responses to “Turning to food for solace”

  1. Olga Says:

    If it tastes good, don’t eat it. That is how my husband diets.

  2. Cathy Says:

    Hello gigi
    Does your insurance cover dieticians? Might be a good idea to consult one – they can help with food choices and alternative foods suitable for your conditions.
    Taake care
    CAthy

  3. Christine Says:

    It’s very sad…you and David are borderline, not so bad yet, so a bit of encouraging. I love sugar and carbs and we have diabetes and triglycerides in the family as well. I have high blood pressure and am on meds which just reminded me I have to go take.

  4. DJan Says:

    When I changed my diet, my triglycerides became normal from a high reading. I find that it’s easy to stay away from sweets if I don’t get started! That first bite always leads me to eat more. It is sad but true…

  5. Jeanie Says:

    It is hard to make changes that don’t suit our tastes, but it sounds like this is a change you will have to work on. I will have to have a look at Dr. Shintani’s diet.

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Your doctor sounds antiquated. The old advice used to be “avoid sugar” but no more. I subscribe to ‘Diabetes Today,’ ‘Diabetes Forecast’ and ‘Diabetic Cooking’ to get good recipes for coping with a prediabetic condition.

    Also, David takes Metformin and has ‘controlled’ his prediabetes despite eating whatever he wants. I have dropped back and am not in the prediabetic range anymore.

    My doctor says, Thank God for Spenda. I use the Eades Cookbook for desserts using Splenda. This reminds me, David is craving cake again. Dianne

  7. gigihawaii Says:

    SchmidleysScribbling Says:
    July 19, 2013 at 5:03 am | Reply edit
    Not Splenda. Splenda is sugar. Check out the National Cancer Institute section, ‘Artificial Sweeteners and Cancer’

  8. L...w Says:

    I call sweets my “happy food”….which is not good. I should do what Olga’s husband suggest lol. I know what you mean though.

  9. Denise Says:

    I think many of us turn to food for comfort when we are stressed. It is a shame that food can make us ill. Gregg has a favorite saying, “If it tastes good it’s bad for you.” Well, he says it with tongue in cheek but with us both trying to watch what we eat now it’s going to be easier because of the support and yet still very hard to turn way those foods we know aren’t healthy. One step at a time I guess.

  10. Dj Jazzy Joel Says:

    The Center for Science in the Public Interest is urging caution in the use of the artificial sweetener Splenda.

    A food safety advocacy group has downgraded its rating for sucralose, the artificial sweetener better known as Splenda, from “safe” to “caution” in its chemical guide to food additives.

    The Washington-based Center for Science in the Public Interest announced Wednesday that it had long rated sucralose as “safe” but is now categorizing it with a “caution,” pending peer review of an unpublished study by an independent Italian lab that found the sweetener caused leukemia in mice.

    Previously, the only long-term animal-feeding studies were done by sucralose’s manufacturers, the CSPI said.

    Other artificial sweeteners such as saccharin, aspartame and acesulfame potassium have received the center’s lowest rating, “avoid.”

    Rebiana, a natural high-potency sweetener obtained from the plant stevia, is considered “safe” by the CSPI, though it says the sweetener needs better testing.

    “Sucralose may prove to be safer than saccharin, aspartame, and acesulfame potassium, but the forthcoming Italian study warrants careful scrutiny before we can be confident that the sweetener is safe for use in food,” said CSPI Executive Director Michael F. Jacobson.

    Despite concerns about artificial sweeteners, the CSPI says that drinking diet soda is better than sugar-carbonated soda, which it says “poses greater risks such as obesity, diabetes heart disease, gout and tooth decay.”

    In order to avoid the risks of both sugars and non-caloric sweeteners, the CSPI is encouraging people to switch to water, seltzer water, flavored unsweetened waters, seltzer mixed with some fruit juice or unsweetened iced tea.

  11. Linda Reeder Says:

    I find comfort in food also. I always have, and I have had a weight problem. I would gain again quickly without exercise. I love food and I love to eat. Finding a balance is a full time job.

  12. LC Says:

    My doc and I had same conversation several years ago. Her recommendation was avoid all sugars and all flour products even whole wheat, and lose 10 pounds.

    I cut down on bread, cut portions and lost the weight. No change in my sugar levels. My next strategy was to go online and become reacquainted with the diabetic exchanges that governed my dad’s food and beverage consumption when he was diagnosed diabetic.

    My next blood test I was down. I had eaten more, lost weight although that wasn’t my goal and generally felt better. I had downloaded Mayo Clinics diabetic exchange lists for all the food groups. There were other good sites too.

    Best to you and David. The exchanges were a lot of detail to absorb and apply, but avoiding the health issues that accompany diabetes makes it worth it.

  13. beedoo747 Says:

    The one thing I would strongly recommend to anyone in the world is – steer clear of all “diet” foods and especially “diet” sodas. These things are so incredibly bad for you.

    If you are going to have a soda, have one, and have a real one, and have it much less often, as a treat. Know how much sugar is in it. At most I will have a can of Coca Cola once a week – though it is usually more like once a month because I prefer mineral water now.

    My advice re drinks is to switch to soda or mineral water. It took some time for me to get used to but if you put in some great fruit it makes the change easier. Slices of lime, orange, or lemon with a bit of the juice squeezed in – I like to cut up a couple of strawberries and put them in.

    In Hawaii you have access to so much great fruit, you could do pineapple, mango, papaya, any fruits you like. You can take a couple of pieces of them and smoosh them up, add in a couple of slices, you will be surprised how awesome this tastes.

    If you get a soda stream, you can make your own soda water very cheaply, no more lugging soda home from the store. You can use tap water – here I use filtered tap water as the water in Australia is not as great as it is in Hawaii.

    The best form of sweetener that I have found is coconut sugar. I really only used sugar in coffee for the most part, so I was looking for something a bit more healthy to use. Coconut sugar is low GI and also has a lovely caramel flavour to it. It is also natural.

Leave a Reply

