Viewing art with a friend

Georgia OKeeffe 002-A

My friend Flo and I met for lunch at the Honolulu Museum of Art Café prior to viewing the Georgia O’Keeffe Hawaiian art exhibit.  O’Keeffe had visited Hawaii for two months during the 1930s and fallen in love with the beautiful tropical plants and scenery.

Georgia OKeeffe 004-A

Flo ordered the Market Salad with curried chicken.

Georgia OKeeffe 005-A

I ordered the Nicoise Salad with seared ahi.

Georgia OKeeffe 006-A

Flo liked all of O’Keeffe’s paintings, but especially this one, because green is Flo’s favorite color.  O’Keeffe’s work inspired her so much that she wants to paint something similar.

Georgia OKeeffe 007-A

This was my favorite.  I was surprised that the colors of this painting remained vibrant and brilliant after all these years.

We also viewed Ansel Adams’ black and white photographs.  One photo was taken of George Barati, who conducted the Honolulu Symphony years ago. I remember auditioning before Barati, who granted me a partial scholarship for violin lessons during high school.

Then, Flo and I strolled through the Contemporary Art section and were amused by what we saw.  Some of the art were really humorous.  You would have to be there to know what I mean.

All in all, we had a nice time.  I enjoyed viewing art with a friend, who is an artist, herself.  Let’s see what new paintings Flo creates in the near future.

15 Responses to “Viewing art with a friend”

  1. Olga Says:

    Thhis is just my kind of day! Thank-you for sharing it with us.

  2. DJan Says:

    My friend Judy and I have taken tours to the Art Museum in Seattle and enjoyed it very much. I love O’Keeffe’s work, too! 🙂

  3. L...w Says:

    Sigh….wish I could paint. Life as an artist must be wonderful…full of inspirations.

  4. Arti Says:

    Must be a nice way to spend time with a friend!! I too love that painting in front of which you have posed! Its bright and vibrant as you mention 🙂

  5. Linda Reeder Says:

    I like Flo’s favorite. It’s so very O’Keefe, with it’s flowing lines and flower ‘intimacy’.

  6. LC Says:

    I loved the photo of you and Flo. The photos of your lunch choices and your O’Keefe favorites passed along your festive and happy mood to this reader!

  7. Christine Says:

    what a lovely outing! Your lunches look delicious and the paintings are beautiful!

  8. Joanne Says:

    An afternoon with a friend and a Georgia O’keeffe’s show–if doesn’t get much better.

  9. Flo Says:

    I had such a wonderful day at the Art Museum with you and it couldn’t get any better – great companion, lovely pictures, good food, and the ambience in the courtyard. What a special day! Your pictures captured all!

  10. Denise Says:

    Great photos at the art exhibition! I enjoy Georgia O’Keefe’s art but had no idea that she visited Hawaii. I should read her biography.

  11. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I miss the little trips to local art museums. Gotta do it this fall when the tourist season is done. I saw the Georgia O’Keefe retrospective a few years ago, then read a few books about her life. What a talent she was. I suppose you know she was born here in VA and taught at UVA at one time. Her husband Alfred Stiglitz took some interesting photos of her, some of them erotic.

    I think I like her New Mexico works best.
    Dianne

  12. jennjilks Says:

    What fun! I love her art. I saw a play about her life in Ottawa. I adored it. She was feisty!

  13. Beatrice Says:

    My best times: when being at art museums and exhibitions!
    Good you had a great time!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Beatrice

Leave a Reply

