Compatible marriage

scenic Hawaii 017-A

Hawaii.

I spent the day experimenting with new recipes:  one for quiche and one for pasta salad.  Unfortunately, David bought a graham cracker crust instead of a flour crust, so I had to make a “no-crust quiche.”  I think the quiche would have tasted better without garlic.  I’ll continue to try other recipes for quiche.

As for the pasta salad, I really didn’t care for the broccoli florets which were mixed in with the rotini. Next time, I’ll make the pasta salad without broccoli.  The dressing consisted of half cup of Italian dressing and half cup of Ranch dressing with extra seasoning.  I added sliced olives and sliced pimientos, which really made the salad exciting.  I’ll continue to tinker with the recipe.

As you can see, I have kept busy during my retirement.  If David decides to retire, he should find something else to do with his life besides exercising at the gym and watching television.  It’s too bad he doesn’t share my interests in writing, blogging, cooking, and hula.

However, as a married couple, we do look forward to traveling abroad, watching sports, going to the opera, and attending parties with friends and family.  I suppose we do have a compatible marriage. Besides, he likes to eat what I cook — most of the time!

12 Responses to “Compatible marriage”

  1. Cathy Says:

    You know the one I like best is Lorraine – bacon onion some cheese and the egg/cream mixture on top. Problems with cholesterol means I can only have it as a treat 😦

  2. DJan Says:

    They both sound interesting, especially the no-crust quiche! 🙂

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I haven’t made a quiche for years. I guess it would be healthier with no crust, but it would taste better with the crust.
    I bet David will find some new interests when he does fully retire.

  4. L...w Says:

    I’ve been reading some retirement blogs and the writer of “Satisfying Retirement” strongly suggests finding your retirement hobby before you retire or it may be a more difficult transition. I am going to live simply….grow most of the food we eat, sew my clothes, make my own soap….no I don’t think I’ll go that far. And with my spare time find an art medium to dabble.

  5. Christine Says:

    My husband does the same as David, must be a way of unwinding, besides watching violent movies!

  6. Suzanne Says:

    I love quiche. I often wonder what I will do when I retire. Hopefully we will have enough money to travel a lot.

  7. Olga Says:

    Quiche is on our menu about three or four times a year. A simple supper and then leftovers for a lunch or two. I like that. My husband and I have different interests and hobbies, but then have something to talk about at the end of the day. I am quite happy that he does not want to do exactly what I do or expect me to follow along with his stuff.

  8. Ana Says:

    One of the things that made my marriage so special is exactly that: my husband loves what I cook 😉

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Today, I cooked ginger chicken today, a recipe my son brought home from first grade in Hawaii years ago. Very simple, chicken breasts, ginger, flour for thickening, white wine, season to taste. Pour the “gravy” over the breasts and brown rice. I served with green beans. Very good and not too caloric either. Dianne

  10. beedoo747 Says:

    I cooked fake lasagne. We call it fake lasagne because it uses pasta and a cream and egg mix on the bottom, and then meat Bolognese sauce on top – you can of course use red sauce without meat if you like. I actually prefer it to lasagne now.

    When I make this, I like to make enough that we have leftovers for several days afterwards. This most recent time, with just 500grams of mince, we have already had 3x meals out of it and still have 4 more in the fridge for the weekend.

    The recipe is pretty simple –

    Cook your red pasta sauce – I like to make mine with hidden vegetables because my other half is not a huge fan of them. This time I put in carrots, zucchini, spinach, and used leeks instead of onions. You can use any kind of mince meat you prefer, I used beef.

    Also put on some pasta in a pot with boiling water. Penne is good because the egg and cream mixture will end up inside it, but any kind of pasta is ok.

    While that is cooking, take a bowl and add in eggs. I generally use 6 eggs minimum to 600mls of cream – this time I put in 12 because the chooks had been busy and I had eggs to use up, plus 600mls of cream. Not sure what that equals in your measurements. 😉 You can add in some parmesan cheese to this mix, I like to add herbs like parsley, paprika, cinnamon and cayenne pepper. So this part is like a quiche almost.

    You drain the pasta, then separate it out into baking dishes, and add some of the egg mix to each dish until you have no egg mix left, try to spread it out evenly.

    Then you add the red sauce to the top, a little cheese if you like, bake for 30 minutes at 200C (390F) and you have yourself fake lasagne.

    I am thinking the egg and cream mix would work really well for quiche with or without a crust.

    The best thing about this meal is it is pretty economical and it goes a long way. 🙂

Leave a Reply

