Benefits

scenic Hawaii 018-A

Hawaii.

One of the benefits of being unemployed is that David no longer has to ice his right knee, as it no longer hurts.  You might remember that he had to go up and down the stairs at his previous office (there was no elevator).  That put a lot of pressure on his joints.

Another benefit of being unemployed is that he is no longer exhausted by the long hours he worked.  Previously, he had to go to bed right after dinner, and he always complained about feeling tired and not getting enough sleep.  Now, he rarely takes naps and he now feels wide awake and energetic.

How wonderful it would be if he could sustain these benefits for the rest of his life, either as an employee or as a retiree.

What does the future hold for my husband?

7 Responses to “Benefits”

  1. Christine Says:

    It sounds like David should retire! He is healthy now.

  2. Olga Says:

    I know that it was my mental health that told me when it was time for retirement and fortunately I had the means. It sounds as though David’s physical health is trying to tell him something–retire or find a more compatible job, which ever, I wish him well.

  3. Jeanie Says:

    I guess none of us knows what the future holds for us, but it sounds to me like retirement is definitely something that works well for David.

  4. L...w Says:

    One of my favorite subject to ponder is WHEN should we retire. My physical condition (hip and back) says this coming year but financially it would make more sense if we postponed it a couple years at least. I don’t think I would want to work til 66.

    I guess the bottomline is making the numbers work. I read from other retirement bloggers that the initial few years after retirement was scary no matter how well they planned their retirement budget. Initially they fell back to working part time but eventually they learned to live within their retirement income and spent accordingly. I figured if I had a choice, tapering our current work might be the answer to help with the adjustment.

    L…w

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I pretty much had retirement thrust upon me owing to health issues. After I retired permanently, I never looked back. I think its important to live in the present and a job that sucks everything out of you leaves no room for such things. Dianne

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    I had the luxury to be able to decide when to retire, and that was when our finances were in good shape and I was tired of the stress of the job. It was a great decision for me. Our life is wonderful.

  7. Cathy Says:

    Look at things more theatrically Gigi – David isn’t unemployed, he’s resting. Literally and figuratively also lol
    The kitchen and laundry are the only rooms with the crossover curtains now – they seem to give a softer look to what are work area windows.
    Cathy

Leave a Reply

