Illegal questions

Hawaii 001-A

Beautiful Hawaii.  Isn’t this scene pristine and pure, free of over-development?  Simply lovely.

Nothing much going on this weekend.  I plan to make a pasta salad again, this time including green peas instead of broccoli.  In addition to the peas and tri-colored rotini, I’ll throw in sliced black olives and pimientos.  Toss it all with Italian dressing.

And, yes, I am going to broil ribeye steaks to go with the pasta salad.  David and I are carnivores.  Well, technically, we are omnivores, since we eat almost everything there is to eat. But, nothing bizarre, you understand.

David came home from a job interview and told me he was asked illegal questions:

1)      How old are you? (I am 64.)

2)      How long do you intend to work? (For as long as I am able.)

Hmmm.  He was not offered the job.  Age discrimination, maybe?

10 Responses to “Illegal questions”

  1. granny annie Says:

    Favorite pasta salad: Cooked linguini (white or wheat) drained. Add 8 oz. basil pesto and small can of chopped black olives. Stir very well. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese. Serve hot or cold.

    I will never forget a job interview in 1967 when I was asked if we were planning to have children and when I said “Not right away” the interviewer asked me what form of birth control we used!!!!

  2. DJan Says:

    I remember when I was interviewing people for jobs and had a long list of things I could not ask. Until then, I never realized how many things you take for granted are illegal questions. 🙂

  3. Joanne Says:

    At a job interview in the ’70’s I was asked who would take care of my children. “Oh, my mother” I blandly replied. He didn’t ask where she lived. I did get that job, and had it for many years.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Those are definitely illegal questions for an interviewer to ask, but I think it happens a lot anyway. I would think a good interviewer could get the information they want without being quite so direct.

  5. Christine Says:

    We are omnivores too! Tell David not to get discouraged.

  6. L...w Says:

    I am surprised that Obamacare rates an employer’s health premiums by age of their employees. That discourages hiring older workers. Not knowing exactly how much the age penalty will be employers may be playing it safe.

  7. Denise Says:

    Illegal questions and rude ones at that. Your pasta salad sounds delicious, as does the steak.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I guess David handled those illegal questions as well as can be – truthfully. Probably don’t want to work for those people anyway.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Of course its age discrimination, but you can do nothing about it. Dianne

Leave a Reply

