Better safe than sorry

David bought new shelving paper, and I finally got around to cleaning two cupboards in the kitchen.  In the process, I found myself donating four large bags of assorted dishes and pots and pans that I no longer use.

I know it’s mundane, but heck, why can’t I show off the wonderful results of my labor?  Let’s see how long these cupboards look this clean and neat.

cupboards 004-A

cupboards 002-A

Did you see the negative publicity in the newspapers regarding the danger of eating bagged salads?  Apparently, more than 400 people in the U.S. have gotten sick from parasites after eating these bagged salads.  This applies to bagged spinach, also.  Experts say that it is better to make your own salad and be sure to wash the lettuce and other vegetables well before eating them.

When I dine at restaurants, I avoid raw salads, preferring to eat food that is thoroughly cooked.  Yes, I know that cooking kills the enzymes that are good for you, but cooking also kills parasites.  Better safe than sorry.

8 Responses to “Better safe than sorry”

  1. laurie Says:

    your cupboards look lovely and organized!!!I hadn’t heard that about bagged salads, yuck!

  2. DJan Says:

    With such a great Farmers’ Market I rarely eat any bagged salads. Your cupboards do sparkle, Gigi! 🙂

  3. Kay G. Says:

    Ha! I love that you took photos of your cupboards! Good for you, now, wish you could get yourself to my house!
    We rarely eat out due to my husband’s gluten free issues, looks like that might be a good thing!

  4. Christine Says:

    your cupboards look beautiful. Scary about the bagged salads.

  5. Olga Says:

    your cupboards look great. worthy of pictures, for sure.

  6. Denise Says:

    When you read health news like this it gives me pause for thought. Your cupboards look great Gigi, I have a few here I need to give the same treatment.

  7. mageb Says:

    That’s just lovely. I like beautiful kitchen shelves.

  8. Cathy Says:

    Come on Gigi tell me to mind my own business but why is it mundane to talk about something like cleaning and tidying out cupboards? In a way it is a reminder that life is full of renewal, cleaning and tidying – moving away from the things that don’t play a part in our lives anymore.
    Bagged salads also have had bad press here – it does make you wonder why people don’t wash them before serving. They aren’t on my shopping list!

Leave a Reply

