Washington, D.C. – Day 1

Lincoln, Washington, Korean 001-A

The Capital Hilton Hotel in Washington, D.C. is close to the sites we want to see.  It is an old hotel, but nicely renovated.  David and I especially like the pretty wallpaper in the bathroom.

Lincoln, Wasgington, Korean 012-A

After checking in and having a late lunch, we took a taxi to the Lincoln Memorial.  Awesome!

Lincoln, Washington, Korean 010-A

Unfortunately, the scaffolding marred the beauty of Lincoln’s statue.  I read a news report that a vandal had smeared green paint on it, and restorers were having a difficult time removing the paint.

Lincoln, Wasgington, Korean 009-A

Here’s a close-up.  What a strong, interesting face he had.

Lincoln, Washington, Korean 004-A

This is the Washington Monument.  It is surrounded by scaffolding due to cracks caused by an earthquake.

Lincoln, Washington, Korean 011-A

Close-up of the Washington Monument.  I just love the green trees and the pool of water.  So peaceful and serene.

Lincoln, Wasgington, Korean 016-A

Korean War Memorial.  Very touching, as 54,000 American soldiers died during the war.

TOMORROW:  Tour of the Capitol in the morning and lunch with my blog friends, Dianne and Denise, and their husbands.  More touring in the afternoon.

12 Responses to “Washington, D.C. – Day 1”

  1. DJan Says:

    I saw the war memorials and was very moved by them all. Glad your first day went so well! 🙂

  2. L...w Says:

    I like to imagine the Washington Monument in my mind’s eye when I want to be calmed.

  3. palolo Says:

    You must try to go on the tour to see Arlington and the grave of JFK and the missing man memorial. I am so happy to see your pictures of Washington DC. I was there 18 years ago.

  4. Cathy Says:

    That’s one city I’ve never been to – love the look of the Korean War Memorial………quite different to any other I’ve seen.

  5. Jeanie Says:

    I had heard about the green paint on the Lincoln Memorial….what a shame. It looks like you are having a wonderful time. I remember being very impressed with the Korean War Memorial.

  6. Olga Says:

    Washington, D.C. is such a great place for a vacation–so much to see and do. I want to take my grand children there in the near future.

  7. Christine Says:

    your trip is moving right along Gigi! Nice photos!

  8. Henry Hank Chapin Says:

    The Lincoln Memorial was one of the greatest experiences of my life. It is awesome.

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    It is an old hotel, but lovely especially as it has been renovated completely since I attended business conferences there years ago (my old office is a few blocks away).

  10. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    PS the green paint was mixed with feces and urine which made it truly a mess. The old woman who committed the crimes (?) also sprayed the Cathedral (children’s chapel) and the statue of MLK…I think.

  11. The Laughing Housewife Says:

    I have never seen pics of the Korean War Memorial before. What a great tribute.

Leave a Reply

