What makes America so fascinating

Hawaii 014-A

Hawaii.

One of the nice things about the USA is its racial diversity.  Here in Hawaii, there are more Asians than whites and many of them intermarry.  I am Korean, and David is Irish, Scottish, and English.

During our recent vacation on the East coast, David and I met an Egyptian waiter in Miami and several Ethiopian taxi drivers in Washington, D.C. I had never seen Egyptians and Ethiopians in Hawaii, so I was intrigued.  These people spoke English well, although with a slight accent. We enjoyed conversing with them.

Another thing that surprised me was the sight of Muslim women, who were hired to push wheel chairs at the airport.  That’s something else you don’t see in Hawaii: women with their head and neck covered with a long scarf, which indicates they are Muslim.

Remember Ana, the blogger we treated to dinner in Miami?  She is from Brazil and speaks Portuguese and English fluently.  She is the first Brazilian I have ever met.

You don’t have to travel far in the USA to meet people from all over the world.  That’s what makes America so fascinating.

11 Responses to “What makes America so fascinating”

  1. Cathy Says:

    Australia is a nation of migrants as well – you name them there’ll be a community of them somewhere lol

  2. beedoo747 Says:

    Unfortunately we have a lot of the head covering here in Australia. I personally find it incredibly offensive that women should have to cover themselves while the men can wear whatever they like.

    The time I found this most offensive was on a 100+ degrees F day (over 40C) and we had gone to a water park. There was a group of Muslim men surrounding a couple of Muslim women.

    The men were wearing speedos.. The women were covered from head to toe, in special swimming costumes.

    I find it terribly sexist. 😦 I would never be a part of a religion that says women have to do X while men get to do Y. To each their own I guess.

    This might be why I am not religious at all. 🙂

  3. granny annie Says:

    America is called The Melting Pot. I am 80% European, 16% Native American and 4% Sub-Saharan African

  4. DJan Says:

    Here in Bellingham we have a lot of Hispanics and Native Americans, but very few black people. I miss the diversity, although there are also plenty of Asians here, too.

  5. Denise Says:

    Our area as you saw on your visit here has a wide variety of people from all over the world and we enjoy chatting to people from other countries. Back on the road. I haven’t had time to do a post but wanted to return visits. The wi-fi connection is very iffy but there is always Starbucks and McDonalds 😉

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Speaking of which, a Somali boy (age 30) drove us home from the Hilton last week. Very nice young man. He said folks are always asking him if he is old enough to drive. Dianne

  7. L...w Says:

    Soon we will all be multiracial!! Not all but a large majority. My grandchildren are a mix of Hawaiian Asian European blood. They simply look like all the other local kids to me…you just don’t know exactly what nationality they are.

  8. Christine Says:

    Canada is very diverse too! We have people from all over the world here.

  9. Suzanne Says:

    I agree. I think it is fascinating to meet a variety of nationalities.

  10. Linda Reeder Says:

    We live in a very international neighborhood. The local community center is now a mosque for Islamic Somalis. We have turban wearing cab drivers living here, with their extended families. They are Sikhs. I frequently greet the “white beards” as I walk in the neighborhood park. Our local elementary school has about 40 languages.

  11. Ana Says:

    I love that about the States. before I moved here I had never had Mexican food or some of the hispanic treats I now love so much. I also got to learn some Hatian Creole and I LOVE their cuisine. I come from a very mixed family. Native Americans, Asians, African Americans and Caucasians. Nothing better!

Leave a Reply

