I love hula

Bastille Day 004-A

Hula dancers at Na Mea Hawaii on Bastille Day 2013.  That’s my teacher in the middle.

It has been a while since I took my last hula class in July.  Classes resume on October 2, and I am looking forward to it.  Meanwhile, we were emailed videos of two hulas, “Kawika” and “Lili’u,” which I have been practicing diligently.  Hopefully, I’ll have them memorized by October.

My friend, Virginia, whose photo I posted during my trip to Washington, D.C., told me she belonged to a hula halau for 15 years.  When she turned age 55, she quit.  She said she had been neglecting her family and also felt that the dances had become too strenuous for her.

It was really funny when I told her I was learning “Lili’u.”  She showed me the opening hand gestures, which I recognized immediately.  I guess hula is universal no matter where you go.

Besides the dances, I want to master the Hawaiian chants and songs.  Hawaiian music is so beautiful, I intend to play CD recordings of it at all of my parties.  Thanksgiving is coming up and so is Christmas.  Expect to hear Brother Iz sing “Somewhere over the Rainbow” as he strums his ukulele.  And, of course, the Brothers Cazimero will serenade us with Hawaiian Christmas carols.

I may not boogie at nightclubs anymore, but hula is simply wonderful for my old bones.  I love hula.

6 Responses to “I love hula”

  1. SchmidleysScribblings Says:

    Okay, trying this again. Is it WP or me. Had trouble leaving messages the past few days. Grrrrr.

    Happy to hear you can still shuffle a bit. My dancing days are over I fear. Dianne

  2. Christine Says:

    It’s so great you have found this wonderful new interest! Healthy too!

  3. DJan Says:

    I think hula is just right for you, Gigi. I’m so glad you found it! 🙂

  4. Jeanie Says:

    With all your practicing you will be the star of the class when it starts in October.

  5. Linda Says:

    So glad you enjoy this, Gigi, I love the colour of the outfits.

  6. Linda Reeder Says:

    Keep on dancing, Gigi!

Leave a Reply

