Culinary cruise on the Seine River

Hawaii 004-A

Hawaii.

David and I have been sleeping a lot since returning from our trip to the East coast.  We sleep in spurts throughout the day and night.  We feel so sleep deprived and are trying to make up for it.

Recently, I had a long chat with my travel agent regarding taking a river cruise in Europe next year.  I told her how difficult it was to walk and stand for long periods of time.  She said a river cruise would be ideal for us.  In fact, if we got tired of keeping up with the day tour, we could always sit outdoors and sip coffee in front of a café.  Many Europeans do this.

How I wish we could join her group tour in October.  She will be guiding a group on a cruise up and down the Seine River, starting in Paris, reaching Normandy, and concluding in Paris.  This particular tour is a culinary tour, and French chefs will be demonstrating and preparing meals for passengers.  It sounds like a lot of fun.

You all know how I love to eat.  Yes, it seems I live to eat, not eat to live.

If this culinary tour is offered next year, David and I will join it.  Does French cuisine appeal to you, too?

P.S.  She said the biggest bed on a river cruise is a queen sized bed, which is adequate for David and me.  Some boats even offer suites rather than single cabins.

13 Responses to “Culinary cruise on the Seine River”

  1. Cathy Says:

    It sounds like a fabulous tour for someone who is interested in cooking – by next year you will have had time to make your body stronger and more able to walk longer distances.
    Take care
    Cathy

  2. Christine Says:

    This sounds wonderful Gigi, I think I live to eat!

  3. Christine Says:

    and good advice from Cathy!

  4. Joanne Says:

    What a great trip. I simply am not up for all the air travel involved. More power to you.

  5. Denise Says:

    The culinary cruise sounds great. I haven’t eaten too much French food but what I have eaten is exemplary.

  6. DJan Says:

    Sounds like it might be just the thing. French cuisine is foreign to me, but I have heard it’s really good! 🙂

  7. Jeanie Says:

    I think that river cruise sounds like something you would really enjoy.

  8. Linda Says:

    Sounds like a great time, Gigi! I think it is good to enjoy eating. After all, we need to eat and why not enjoy it? 🙂 Love the horse photo!

  9. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Sounds ideal for you and David. Go for it next year. Then I can read all about it here. Dianne

  10. Grannymar Says:

    A culinary cruise on the Seine, sounds wonderful. It brings back happy memories of visits to France when Elly was at Uni there for a year!

  11. Suzanne Says:

    Today, I just finished reading, “Trail of Crumbs” based in France. That sounds like a wonderful tour in Oct.

  12. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    Hi Gigi
    Sounds like an exciting European cruise. Hope you and David can make it. I have re-surfaced after a long break. Have a lot of catching up to do .
    Regards Ram

  13. Linda Reeder Says:

    We loved out river boat cruising out of Amsterdam ( Viking Tulips and Windmills) and our Normandy to Paris cruise. We took a train out to La Harve and then cruised back to Paris. But the best part was the land tours, so maybe the eating tour is the way to go for you.

Leave a Reply

