A memorial dinner

A memorial dinner was held at Hee Hing Chinese Restaurant last night in honor of my brother, who died in 2003 at the age of 55, and my father, who died in 1997 at the age of 87.  Thirty-five guests attended this dinner.

Here are some pictures from the past as well as from last night’s celebration of life:

Mom and Dad 1981 001-A

My mother and father, 1981, on Dad’s 72nd birthday.

Dathan and Pat 2002 001-A

My brother and his wife, 2002, six months before his death in 2003.

DATHAN PHOTO-A

My brother at age 19.

Memorial dinner 010-A

My brother’s widow and their son and their son’s girlfriend (last night).  Their daughter was too ill to attend the dinner.

Memorial dinner 002-A

My younger sister and I and our 97 year old mother.

There was a lot of good, delicious food, which appealed to both vegans and carnivores.  My father and brother would have enjoyed this feast.

It was a true celebration of life, and we enjoyed the little speeches that recalled happy times.

9 Responses to “A memorial dinner”

  1. Christine Says:

    I enjoyed looking at your family photos. You girls look like your beautiful mom. It’s important to get together with family I think.

  2. Suzanne Says:

    What a great idea. It is important to connect with those here and to celebrate those that left too soon.

  3. granny annie Says:

    You and your brother and sister are beautiful children from beautiful parents. How blessed to have your mother still.

  4. Denise Says:

    A lovely get-together to honor your father and brother Gigi and what a wonderful way to celebrate their life., I enjoyed all the photos of you and your family very much.

  5. DJan Says:

    So sorry to hear of your brother’s untimely death. I love the old pictures, and he looked like he was quite a catch when he was young! Thanks for sharing these pictures, Gigi. I enjoyed it. 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    Great family pictures and what a nice way to celebrate the memories of your father and brother.

  7. L...w Says:

    Your mom looks so well for her age and so incredibly young for 65 years of age (if my math is correct) in the top photo with your dad. You’ve got some good genes there.

    What a nice family celebration to remember your loved ones who are missed.

  8. Linda Reeder Says:

    I loved the photo of your brother at 19! How sad that he had such an untimely death.

  9. palolo Says:

    What kind of foods did you have? Was it really good? Good of your family to keep their memory alive.

Leave a Reply

