Are you in perfect health?

Hawaii 007-A

Hawaii.

Towards the end of our trip to India last November, I got so sick I could not attend my aunt’s Christmas party, my grandson’s birthday party in February, and my mother’s birthday party in March.  You can imagine everyone’s surprise when I showed up at the memorial dinner for my brother and father the other night.

“Where have you been?” people asked.

It was nice to be noticed.

One of the guests at the memorial was my cousin, who turned 80 this year.  Though he had always looked the picture of good health, watching his diet and working out at the gym every day, he told me he had to undergo chemotherapy for lymphoma last year.

What were the symptoms?  He said there was a huge tumor on the left side of his belly.  It was so large he felt full after eating just 2 tablespoons of food.  No surgery was necessary.  The chemo shrank the tumor and he is now okay.  If he is healthy for 5 years, he will be considered “cured.”  It has been a year so far and he is hopeful that he will pass the 5 year mark.

I hope so too, as he is one of my favorite cousins.  Isn’t it scary how cancer can strike someone who was the epitome of good health?

Then, there is my 97 year old mother, who has never had cancer, diabetes, or heart disease.  However, she does have dementia.  There’s always something wrong, isn’t there?  Give thanks if you are in perfect health.

9 Responses to “Are you in perfect health?”

  1. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Not to be negative, but you are never “cured” of cancer. Cancer only goes into remission. For example, I am undergoing more tests for a chronic form of leukemia.
    I did this a few years ago. White blood cells in abundance are the indicator.

    MY sister had lyphoma and is evaluated for new symptoms each year. Currently she has much neurapathy from chemo treatments.

    Leukemia has much to do with genes, and probably little or nothing to do with diet. Can be sent into remission with chemo, but it will rear its ugly head again if you live long enough. At age 78, Dad died of testicular cancer turned to bone cancer before the leukemia returned.

    Dianne

    • gigihawaii Says:

      78 is much too young to die. Of all the diseases, I fear cancer the most. The chemo treatment is almost as bad, if not worse, than the disease, itself.

  2. mageb Says:

    Wearing out requires a sense of humor.

  3. Christine Says:

    Health is right up there at number one on the list of priorities!

  4. DJan Says:

    Who can know whether or not they are in perfect health? Although all my blood work is good, and I am able to exercise as much as I want to, I always fear the possibility of undetected disease, such as cancer. But I am taking my days one at a time and giving thanks for all the good times I’m able to have! 🙂

  5. Denise Says:

    Apart from the usual aches and pains I think I am pretty healthy. I just need to lose weight and I find that very hard. I try to eat as healthy as I can, exercise by walking and just
    enjoying each day to the fullest and hope for the best. I’m glad your cousin has been healthy after such a horrible scare.

  6. Linda Says:

    I think that health is one of the most important things…if we don’t have our health it is difficult to function. I think it is important to treasure each and every moment because we never know which moment may be our (or someone else’s) last.

  7. Linda Reeder Says:

    While I am not in “perfect health”, my state of healthfulness is better than it used to be. It’s something that I work on consciously.

  8. Beatrice Says:

    Yes, there’s always something, even if you are a baby still – nobody is completely without issues. The story of your cousin is similar to my husband’s, who even looked healthy when he was dead and who always lived a healthy life, did sports etc., still cancer hit in an age you don’t think about to go, but he did not survive as you know…hope your cousin will end up heathy again. But cancer is so mean….
    Beatrice *

Leave a Reply

