Keeping busy

Hawaii 010-A

Hawaii.

I discovered something new about my husband.  He likes to be physically active and dislikes sitting on the sofa watching television all day.

So, guess what, I made a honey-do list and put him to work.  He perused my list at breakfast time and then chose which chore he wanted to do first.

After working for awhile, it gave him great pleasure to cross “clean baseboards under the windows” off the list.

Then, he tackled the shelves in Maria’s former bedroom, which we use for storage.  Maria moved out in 2003 and still kept her college notebooks on those shelves.  Good grief, what for?  David cleared the shelves and bagged everything for Maria to look at later.

Beautiful work!  I transferred my hats and other things from Lisa’s bedroom to Maria’s shelves.  Whenever Lisa stays with us, her room is off-limits.  Hence, the hats and other things had to change venue.

He also pruned the potted palms in the patio and watered the hanging ferns, too.  He sorted the cans and bottles for recycling.

There are more things on my honey-do list that David can hardly wait to tackle.  This is a man who is in good health and dearly wants to feel useful.  It’s too bad no one wants to hire him as an accountant.  Yes, he has received calls from insurance companies that want to hire him as an insurance salesman, but that kind of work really does not appeal to him.

Next Monday, he will begin 75 hours of class time at H and R Block.  There is no guarantee he will get hired after he graduates, but David is looking forward to the intellectual stimulation.  Education never goes to waste.  Kudos to my husband.

13 Responses to “Keeping busy”

  1. granny annie Says:

    David sounds like a keeper. The only thing Ron ask me for before we married was that I NEVER give him a Honey-Do List and I never did. He still did lots of things for me that I wanted done plus a lot of things I didn’t know needed doing.

  2. DJan Says:

    My husband makes his own lists and crosses things off it as he accomplishes them. I am not a list maker myself. I would never give him a list, but then again, he’s already done it himself. 🙂

  3. Christine Says:

    David has to adjust to his new reality…great to keep busy.

  4. Jeanie Says:

    Your list sounds like a win-win and the good news is that there is a never-ending list of things that need to be done around a house.

  5. Beatrice Says:

    Indeed education never goes to waste…….so right!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Beatrice

  6. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Good idea to put them to work. After David retired he complained all the time about missing work and feeling useless. I put him to work with this and that and now he does not complain. He has even grown to like ‘keeping house.’ Dianne

  7. Joanne Says:

    Education never goes to waste, as you said, and I’ll bet H&R block snaps him up.

  8. L...w Says:

    I’m never good at making lists around the house but once I mention something that needs to be done my husband does it without another mention….I even forget all about it.

  9. Karen Says:

    Aloha- hope David (or you) have been regularly checking the KITV4 site for jobs as there have been several listed which appeared (to me) to be promising. In the meantime, enjoy getting all the things done at home!

  10. Suzanne Says:

    Wow! Sounds like he is checking things off like crazy.

  11. Denise Says:

    I see you’re keeping busy both of you. It’s nice to have the extra help. Good luck to David in his job search.

  12. palolo Says:

    Good husband.

  13. Linda Says:

    I love making lists and crossing off what has been done! I love cleaning and organizing. It is so nice you have some help!

Leave a Reply

