Dinner with my in-laws

inlaws 005-A

Last night, we gathered together with David’s older brother and family at Romano’s Macaroni Grill.  From left:  Victoria, Shirley, Michael, Amanda, Rylan, Maria, Julia, Grant, and me. David was the photographer.

inlaws 003-A

It was Maria’s birthday.  The restaurant gave her a complimentary cake, while a waiter sang Happy Birthday in Italian.

My in-laws always spend two weeks in Hawaii and never seem to get tired of their annual trek.  If I lived in Boston like they do, I would travel to Europe more often.  It’s very difficult for me to do so, as I am stuck in the middle of the Pacific.  It’s ironic that they would prefer to travel to Japan rather than Europe whereas I prefer Europe to Asia.

By the way, that blue hat I am wearing was a gift to me from my dear friend, Flo Miyahira, prior to my trip to the East coast.  I am glad I left it at home, because my head got sweaty from the heat and humidity, and my hat would have gotten wet and smelly.  Isn’t blue a pretty color?  Mahalo, Flo!  I’ll give you some gifts from India when I see you next time.

I feel that our love for one another trumps the evil we sometimes encounter.  I turn my eyes away from the rapes and murders and wars discussed in the media and think of the people I love instead.  If I am loved in return, that’s a bonus.  Peace, everyone!

7 Responses to “Dinner with my in-laws”

  1. granny annie Says:

    It had to be a lovey time. You certainly do wear hats well. Did you buy a case of Macaroni Grill wine? It is supposed to be on sale for 1/2 price right now.

    • gigihawaii Says:

      I didn’t know about the sale. The only wine drinker was David’s brother, who likes white wine. I ordered a Mai Tai and David ordered a Strawberry Daiquiri.

  2. DJan Says:

    That’s a really nice picture! I wondered where David was and then I realized (before I read the post) that he must be the photographer.

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    Regarding the ugly things in the world, remember the old saying, If you bury your head in the sand you leave your A.. uncovered.

    Yes, the love of others is VERY important. I was complaining to myself this morning and then recalled those poor suffering souls in Syria. I am sure all most of them want is peace.

    Visiting. I would love to take the Orient Express from Paris to Constantinople. That gets one to Europe and Asia. I think Kay’s trip to China must have been very impressive. Doubt I will ever get there, however, my SIL and nephew have both traveled there, he to teach English and she to visit him.

  4. Christine Says:

    Happy Birthday Maria! Lovely gathering!

  5. Linda Says:

    How nice! Looks like a lovely time.

  6. Denise Says:

    Hi Gigi, a lovely family gathering and Happy Birthday Maria. Love your outfit, what a very nice gift! And no, I am not ready for RV’ing just yet but it does sound like fun.

Leave a Reply

