David should learn how to cook

Hawaii 012-A

Hawaii.

David withdrew from the H and R Block tax class and got a full refund.  He withdrew, because the class would have been redundant, since he is already familiar with tax preparation. He’s an accountant, after all.

I am encouraging him to cook his own meals.  Who knows, I might die prematurely and then he will starve to death.  One thing he does not do well is wash the dishes.  I have to point out the food still stuck to pots and plates.  No, the dishwasher does not get it all.

I really enjoy trying new recipes.  It’s a lot of fun.  For instance, I made “Chicken Tortilla Chip Casserole,” and loved this novel way to prepare chicken.  Here’s a photo of what I baked the other day:

Chicken Tortilla 001-A

And this is the link to the recipe:

http://thesouthernladycooks.com/2013/04/23/chicken-tortilla-chip-casserole/

Cook books are obsolete.  If I want a new recipe, all I have to do is go online and search for it.  The wonders of the Internet!

And if I like a recipe, I insert it into a plastic sleeve and store it with other favorite recipes in a large 3 ring binder.  When I want to cook something, I simply take the sleeve out of the binder and lay it on the kitchen counter. The sleeve protects the recipe from splatters.

recipe binder 002-A

9 Responses to “David should learn how to cook”

  1. R.Ramakrishnan Says:

    This is interesting. In fact I too have started learning to cook these past 3-4 weeks. Shobha ( my wife) is going to away in Boise from early September for around 6 months and I will have to fend for myself during her absence. And I cant be possibly eating out for the entire period. So the best way is to learn how to cook some simple meals.
    Initial indications are that I am not a bad cook 🙂

  2. Olga Says:

    Well, I thoroughly endorse each spouse learning the other’s usual jobs because, believe me, the unexpected happens.

    i do the same thing with recipes.

  3. Christine Says:

    David could get a part time job preparing taxes on his own. I use evernote to store my recipes among other things, I also keep hard copies stuffed into shoeboxes, awful I know…one of these days I will be organized like you!

  4. ~L. Says:

    Maybe David could check out cooking classes at some of the Adult Education centers or something like that. Besides learning about cooking there might be interesting people he might meet there much like how you meet interesting people at hula.

  5. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    And here’s me buying cookbooks. My most recent acquisition from the American Diabetes Association. I prepare meals for David’s Prediabetes from these books.

    My granddaughter Hannah finds all kinds of recipes online. I am still in the print versions I can take into the kitchen and spatter food on. However, I do print out recipes from the Weight Watchers site.

  6. Joanne Says:

    For years I’ve found my daughter on the internet for a recipe before she starts cooking the dish. Oh, yeah, she’ll find one.

  7. L...w Says:

    I still “go to” my first cookbooks which I bought in the 70s and 80s. Whereas on the internet, I have never found a decent recipe by just googling for the recipe.

    David could teach H&R Block courses…sheesh lol

  8. Denise Says:

    Putting your recipes in a binder is a great idea. I love the look of that dish. When we get back home I will give it a try. Gregg has been a great breakfast chef and on the weekend would enjoy putting together a meal. He makes better scrambled eggs than I do! Since having more time he has started to enjoy cooking at other meal times. I also really enjoy it when we make a meal together.

    I did not see the sunrise on Haleakala. I can only imagine how spectacular that would be. Next time we visit it will be on the list.

  9. Linda Reeder Says:

    I have an assortment of recipe methods – file cards, cook books, and notebooks. I have found some good recipes on line. But except for baking or desserts, I seldom cook from recipes.

Leave a Reply

