Many positive experiences

Prior to the Hawaii vs. Southern California football game yesterday, David went to the store and purchased this T-shirt for less than $10.00.  Isn’t it beautiful?  I love the colorful design.

Shirt, carpet, pizza 002-A

Unfortunately, Hawaii lost 30-13.  Hawaii’s offense didn’t impress us until the final moments of the game when Quarterback Taylor Graham threw a deep pass, which resulted in a touchdown.  David called me from the bathroom and showed me the repeat.  Then the holder made a surprising two point conversion.  What a dramatic finish to an otherwise boring game!

Shirt, carpet, pizza 004-A

The pan pizza supreme from Pizza Hut didn’t disappoint us.

Shirt, carpet, pizza 003-A

But, we were surprised to see that the blue carpet we installed in 2008 had faded so much.  The remnant had not faded during the time it was stored in the cupboard, so we wondered why the room carpet had faded.  We couldn’t blame it on sunlight, as not all areas of the carpet were exposed to sunlight.

The carpet layer gave us a reasonable quote for installing new carpet in our master bedroom and Lisa’s room, but we have decided not to spend money unnecessarily.

We still have to pay for next year’s river cruise in France.  That trip will cost a pretty penny.  We have already charged the deposit of $1,158 and are taking advantage of the $500 promotional discount per person.  Even at this early date, the cabins on Level B have sold out.  The cabin we reserved is located on Level A.  This cruise will be a lot of fun.  We look forward to dining at the Eiffel Tower.

I have had many positive experiences in my life.  I try not to think about the negative.  David feels the same way.

17 Responses to “Many positive experiences”

  1. granny annie Says:

    The trip will be better remembered than new carpet:)

  2. Christine Says:

    Wow it’s good to know you have to book these cruises way in advance!

  3. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    I like the two-toned carpet. It looks special. Good advice about cruises.

  4. SchmidleysScribbling Says:

    That’s It of course.

  5. DJan Says:

    That is definitely a colorful t-shirt, and good advice for anybody, to concentrate on the positive and minimize the negative. 🙂

  6. Jeanie Says:

    The patch in the carpet will probably fade with time and use also and I agree with Annie above, the cruise will be a wonderful experience and memory.

  7. Olga Says:

    Enjoy all the moments you can as a couple. That is one thing I learned from Mike–to be content with exactly what we have. I may no longer have his physical presence, but I have the memories and I will have to learn to find contentment in a new way of life.

  8. Denise Says:

    Interesting about the different shade in carpet. David looks great in his Hawaii shirt, sorry about the team’s loss though. That cruise sounds wonderful!

  9. Denise Says:

    Back again, as I realized I hadn’t answered your question about my elk post. People have actually been gored by elk and received some serious injuries. Park Rangers have told us you should always stay behind your car if you get out to get a better look at any of these animals. I preferred to stay in the car. He seemed so far away at first and it was quite a surprise after our view had been blocked by the other car, to actually see he was heading our way once that car had moved.

  10. kawika Says:

    Hi Gigi, Love David’s shirt. Can you please tell me where he purchased it from.

  11. L...w Says:

    Very good advice…to keep in mind the positives. Sometimes when I get depressed about things, husband tells me he’ll be my reality check. He’s so “go with the flow” that if I get upset only when he’s upset that would be almost never!!

  12. Linda Reeder Says:

    The carpet patch would bug me, but it’s in a bedroom, so no big deal. Cruising is a better way to spend your money.

Leave a Reply

